May 21, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Marijuana Ties | Mary Mayhew | Car Theft

UMaine’s Fogel, Stevens gain softball recognition


ORONO, Maine — University of Maine junior third baseman Jean Stevens and sophomore catcher EmJ Fogel earned All-America East softball honors.

Stevens, who is from Albany, Ore., and Vienna, Va., native Fogel were also selected to the 2013 College Sports Madness All-Conference teams, as announced by the organization on Wednesday morning.

Stevens was America East’s first team third baseman while Fogel was the second team catcher for the second straight year.

On the College Sports Madness All-Conference teams, Fogel was named to the first team as the utility player while Stevens earned second team honors in the infield.

Fogel led the Black Bears in both average (.305) and hits (50) while starting all 47 games. The sophomore scored 15 runs with 10 RBI to go along with seven doubles with a .335 on-base percentage. Fogel ranked in the top 10 in America East in hitting while spending the majority of her time on defense behind the plate, where she racked up a .983 fielding percentage. Fogel also stole six bases on the year.

Stevens was second on the Maine squad with a .258 batting average, playing in all 47 games with 45 starts. The junior third baseman led the league in home runs (13) and RBIs (38) while totaling 33 hits, including five doubles, and 77 total bases. She had a slugging percentage of .602

UMaine’s Wasilewski recognized

UMaine quarterback Marcus Wasilewski (Kulpmont, Pa.) has been named to the 2013 College Football Performance Awards Football Championship Subdivision Quarterback Award Watch List.

“With continued success in 2012 from Wasilewski, Maine will likely compete for conference and national titles in 2013,” said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith.

Last season, Wasilewski threw for 2,364 yards and 21 touchdowns while adding 420 rushing yards and three scores. He ranked second in the Colonial Athletic Association with 214.9 passing yards per game

The preliminary watch list highlights thirty-two returning performers, vying for the top quarterback honor in the Football Championship Subdivision.

UMaine swim team lists awards

Head coach Susan Lizzotte and the UMaine swimming and diving program have announced their annual team awards, recognizing those student-athletes who achieved beyond expectations in the pool, classroom and the community.

The Switzer Dedication awards went to Jenn Trodden (Reading, Mass.) and Cody Lachance (Winslow, Maine).

The most valuable swimmers were Naja Harvey (Orono, Minn.) and Ryan Fahey (Quincy, Mass.).

The most improved swimmers were Katie-Jean Hinckley (Prospect, Conn.), Amber Murray (Dover-Foxcroft, Maine) and Will Hoffman (Waterville, Maine).

The Chandler Comeback award was awarded to Sergey Terrio (Oakland, Maine).

Carmen Linden (Ottawa, Ontario) and Robbie Bickford (Milford, Maine) were each awarded the Palmer Plaque for Academic Excellence.

Kara Capossela (Greenwich, Conn.) was awarded the Miller Diving award.

Laura Duran (Falmouth, Maine) received the Senior Service Award.

Lauren Dwyer (Orono, Maine) and Matt England (Bangor, Maine) received the Erin Woolley Memorial Award.

The Erin Woolley Memorial Award will be awarded annually in memory of Erin Woolley (1984-2010), who was a member of the swimming and diving team from 2002-2006. It recognizes an underclassman who best embodies the contributions Woolley made to the program.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like