May 25, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | DHHS Report | Islesboro Ferry | Election 2018

Jeff Burgess captures opener as racing returns to Wiscasset Speedway

WISCASSET, Maine — A hearty crowd of racing-starved fans huddled into a blustery Wiscasset Speedway Saturday afternoon for the start of the season as racing returned to the track for the first time in nearly three years.

East Madison’s Jeff Burgess didn’t have a very large group of cars chasing him in the 30-lap Pro Stock feature. On the day his late father, Butch Burgess, was to be inducted into the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame, Jeff Burgess earned the victory.

He used the first half of the race to gradually pull away from Bill Penfold of Yarmouth, and cruised from there to the win. John Rideout of Washington finished third and Corey Walker of New Vineyard placed fourth.

OTHER WISCASSET RESULTS — SUPER STOCKS (35 LAPS): 1. Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich; 2. James Osmond, Wiscasset; 3. Josh Bailey, Wiscasset; 4. Dan Nesmith, Wiscasset; 5. Corey Morgan. THUNDER 4’s (15 LAPS): 1. Jamie Heath, Waterford; 2. Mike Dulaney, Richmond; 3. Leandra Martin, Richmond; 4. Kevin Sherman, Wiscasset; 5. Jason Stanley, New Sharon. N.E. 4-CYL PROSTOCKS (20 LAPS): 1. Brad Zahensky, Bow, NH; 2. Kevin Sherman, Wiscasset; 3. Adam Polvinan; 4. Mike Swett, Farmingdale; 5. Travis Dunbar, Lisbon. NELCAR LEGENDS (25 LAPS): 1. Shawn Buffington, Plainfield, Conn; 2. Matthew Bourgoine, Newport; 3. Bob Weymouth, Topsham; 4. Ryan Hammar, Pembroke, NH; 5. Alan Smith, Lincoln.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like