Frankfort residents to vote on joining new school district

Posted March 27, 2013, at 10:38 p.m.
Last modified March 28, 2013, at 9:55 a.m.

FRANKFORT, Maine — Residents of Frankfort will decide whether their town joins Hampden, Winterport and Newburgh as members of School Administrative District 20. Residents can vote at the Frankfort Elementary School on 48 Main Road South from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Thursday. Last November, 74 percent of the residents who voted (317 total) approved the closure of the Frankfort Elementary School after this year and withdrawal from RSU 20 (Belfast/Searsport). If approved, the next step would be a vote by SAD 20 towns to accept Frankfort. That is scheduled for April 9.


An earlier version of this story requires correction. Frankfort residents voted on whether to join School Administrative District 20, not 22, at the Frankfort Elementary School, not town office, on Thursday.