March 25, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | March for Our Lives | Marissa Kennedy | Maine Axes

Seven to be inducted into Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame

By Sun Journal, Special to the BDN

AUBURN, Maine — Butch Burgess, Bob Hallee, Jon Lizotte, Kenny Lund and Ron Smith, along with father-and-son car owners Mike D’Amico Sr. and Mike D’Amico Jr., will be inducted into the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame this year.

Presented by the Maine Vintage Race Car Association, the Hall of Fame Class of 2013 dinner and induction ceremonies will be held at the Augusta Civic Center on Saturday, April 6.

“Championship” is the common theme for the Class of 2013 with five championship drivers and two championship car owners entering the Hall of Fame together.

The inductees made big contributions to motorsports in Maine.

-– The late Lloyd “Butch” Burgess Jr. won three Late Model Sportsman (Pro Stock) championships at Unity Raceway and more than 45 feature races during a 23-year racing career. He also raced at Wiscasset Speedway, Speedway 95, Oxford Plains Speedway and Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.

–- The late Mike D’Amico Sr. and Mike D’Amico Jr. of Scarborough are the first father and son to be inducted together. Mike Sr. owned and built the original “Blue Deuce” driven by Ralph Cusack at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway. Mike Jr. won six car-owner track championships with Ralph Cusack and Dick Garrett, also at Beech Ridge and associated with Dick McCabe on the NASCAR North Tour and Busch North Series.

–- Bob Hallee of Winslow won Late Model Sportsman track championships at Speedway 95, Unity Raceway and Wiscasset Speedway during a 15-year career. He is a highly popular Ford driver.

-– Jon Lizotte of Lewiston won four track championships (one Charger and three Figure Eight) at Oxford Plains Speedway. He won more than 100 races during his 30-year career, including 86 Figure Eight victories. He also raced on the ACT Tour and the NASCAR Busch North Series.

-– Kenny Lund of Standish won four track championships at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, two Class “C” titles, two Limited Sportsman titles and two track championships at Wiscasset Speedway in a 20 plus-year racing career.

-– The late Ron Smith was the first dominant driver in the modern era of Oxford Plains Speedway, winning 17 races between 1964 and 1967 and the first two “modern era” track championships. His racing career lasted less than 10 years.

Reserved tickets for the Hall of Fame dinner and induction ceremonies are $35 each and must be purchased by March 20. To request a ticket order form, contact the MVRCA at 50 Beech Ridge Road, York, Maine 03909 or email

For information about the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame Class of 2013 dinner and induction ceremonies, visit the Maine Vintage Race Car Association website at


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like