June 21, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Pride | Janet Mills | Urban Farming Ban

Maine high school wrestlers to compete in New England championships Saturday

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

Maine’s top high school wrestlers will compete in the 49th annual New England Interscholastic Wrestling Championships slated for Friday and Saturday at the Providence (R.I.) Career and Technical Center.

All wrestlers who recently won championships at the state meets for Classes A, B and C are eligible to represent Maine at the New Englands.

Wrestlers seeded first in the Maine contingent by weight class are Griffyn Smith of Dirigo of Dixfield (106 pounds), Connor Sheehan of Fryeburg Academy (113), Tyler Salsbury of Dexter (120), Colin Sevigny of Wells (126), Trevor Smith of Marshwood of South Berwick (132), Dan DelGallo of Gardiner (138), Coleman Powers of Camden Hills of Rockport (145), Cody Hughes of Marshwood (152), Nick Vogel of Greely of Cumberland Center (160), Jared Jensen of Brunswick (170), Brett Gerry of Marshwood (182), Andrew Pineo of Skowhegan (195), Victor Irwin of Brewer (220) and Aaron Lint of Winslow (285).

Seeded second among Maine qualifiers were Peter DelGallo of Gardiner (106), Tyler Craig of Skowhegan (113), Tyler Davidson of Marshwood (120), Ian Whitis of Cheverus of Portland (126), Zach Stevens of Lisbon (132), Forrest Law of Foxcroft Academy (138), Jackson Horwath of Marshwood (145), Wesley Stinson of Foxcroft (152), Tom Barnett of Dirigo (160), Michael Curtis of Wells (170), Nelson Pepin of Dirigo (182), Peter Kelley of Belfast (195), Michael Garland of Ellsworth (220) and Isaiah Reynolds of Bonny Eagle of Standish (285).

Third seeds from Maine are Kidayer Aljubyly of Portland (106), Antonio Ayala of Foxcroft (113), Zach Sheehan of Fryeburg (120), Brooks Law of Foxcroft (126), Calan Bragg of Camden Hills (132), Nick Janes of Marshwood (138), Stewart Buzzell of Monmouth (145), Michael Alvarez of Morse of Bath (152), Zach Faskiano of York (160), Josh Pelletier of Fort Kent (170), Michael Risti of Massabesic of Waterboro (182), Corey Bjornson of Foxcroft (195), Antonio Maulolo of Boothbay (220) and Marc Suprenant of Wells (285).

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like