May 23, 2018
Penobscot Latest News | Poll Questions | Mark Eves | Any-Deer Permits | RCV Strategy

Veterans returned to posts in most Katahdin region elections

By Nick Sambides Jr., BDN Staff

A challenger’s attempt to unseat one of two veteran Millinocket Town Council members fell short on Election Day, officials said Wednesday.

Millinocket Councilor Jimmy Busque received 1,685 votes and Chairman John Davis got 1,507, besting resident Michael Austin, who received 601, according to vote totals released by Millinocket Town Clerk Roxanne Johnson.

Busque is the most senior and probably the most entrenched councilor, known for opposing Roxanne Quimby’s proposed national park and what he calls the environmental preservationist movement, which he says is environmentalism that cares more about nature than people.

Millinocket School Committee candidate Warren Steward, meanwhile, defeated Eric E. Buckingham Jr., 1,417 votes to 703.

All the victors were elected to three-year terms.

Former Millinocket School Committee Chairman Arnold Hopkins, meanwhile, returns to the school board for a one-year term with 1,827 votes after a stormy exit in December 2011. Runner-up Timothy Smyth received 423 votes.

In East Millinocket, meanwhile, Selectman Gary MacLeod defeated challenger Jeff C. DeWitt, 434-401. East Millinocket School Committee candidates Jennifer A. Murray and Ryan C. Whitehouse received 519 and 730 votes, respectively, in unopposed races, Town Clerk Erica Ingalls said.

With 507 votes, Jeff Jandreau won a special election in Medway held to replace Selectman David Dickey, who resigned on Sept. 14 to move to Portland for a new job. Former Selectwoman Jane McLaughlin received 109 votes and Peter Rouleau, 59.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like