May 28, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | George HW Bush | Memorial Day | Long Creek

Speedway 95 closes season with busy weekend of racing

BDN staff reports

HERMON, Maine — Ryan Deane of Winterport passed Wayne Parritt of Steuben on the 47th lap Sunday to win a 50-lap Sportsman feature in the final race of the season at Speedway 95 in Hermon.

Deane claimed a runner-up finish behind Mike Hopkins of Hermon in Sunday’s 35-lap feature, which was postponed by rain Saturday.

Parritt took second in the 50-lapper, with Dean Smart of Bradley finishing third followed by Hopkins and Phil Richardson of Hermon.

Hopkins qualified on the pole for the 35-lap race but he couldn’t get past Smart until the 30th lap on his way to victory. Smart was second, Ryan Deane of Winterport took third, Shane Clark of Winterport was fourth and Steuben’s Wayne Parritt claimed fifth place.

Other Speedway 95 results

Maine State Lottery Sportsman, Saturday: 1. Joe Legere (Milford), 2. Troy Patterson (Stockton Springs), 3. Dustin Bisson (Greene); Sunday, 40 laps: 1. Steve Moulton (Holden), 2. Scott Modery (Hermon), 3. Bradley Norris (Ellsworth), 4. Bob Seger Jr. (Frankfort), 5. Ralph Melanson (Charleston); Strictly Street, Saturday, 50 laps: 1. Maurice Young (Windsor), 2. Andrew McLaughlin (Harrington), 3. Chris King (Burnham), 4. Zachary Bowie (Lisbon), 5. David Gray (Dixmont); Sunday, 25 laps: 1. Andrew McLaughlin (Harrington), 2. Jim Carr Jr. (Clifton), 3. Duane Seekins (Stockton Springs), 4. Jeff Willette (Presque Isle), 5. Gerry Phillips (Hermon); Sport-Four, Fred Ashmore Jr. and Mike Harnish Jr. “Quit Your Complaining” 50-lapper, Saturday: 1. Zach Audet (Skowhegan), 2. Matt Moore (Mechanic Falls), 3. Donny Silva (Hudson), 4. Bradley Dolan (Glenburn), 5. Calvin Rose Jr. (Turner); Sunday, 30 laps: 1. Calvin Rose Jr. (Turner), 2. Zach Audet (Skowhegan), 3. Fred Ashmore Jr. (Hancock), 4. Matt Moore (Mechanic Falls), 5. Keith Ogden (Holden); Pickups, Saturday: 1. Jim Carr Jr. (Clifton), 2. Jeff Overlock Jr. (Hermon), 3. Roger Smith Jr. (Bangor), 4. Jason Haskell (Levant); Bomber: 1. Denis Burns (Carmel), 2. Jeremy Scott (Carmel), 3. Dustin Lancaster (Brownville), 4. Jacob Earle (Veazie). 5. Rick Pease Sr. (Detroit); Sunday: 1. Jeremy Scott (Carmel), 2. Cody Robbins (Oakland), 3. Andrew Crosby (Hermon), 4. Denis Burns Carmel), 5. Kyle Gallant (Bangor); Stars of Tomorrow, Saturday: 1. Alex Runci (Belfast), 2. Dylan Street (Old Town), 3. Alexis Roach (Brewer); Sunday: 1. Dylan Street (Old Town), 2. Alex Runci (Belfast), 3. Dustin Durrell, 4. Kyle Moore (Frankfort), 5. Alexis Roach (Brewer).

Winterport Dragway

At Winterport on Sunday, Dan Emerson of Hermon was a double winner, claiming victories in the Super Pro/Pro final and in the Super Pro Eliminator races.

Super Pro/Pro Final: 1. Dan Emerson, Hermon, 2. Ron Buffington, Millinocket; Super Pro Eliminator: 1. Dan Emerson, Hermon, 2. Les Foss, Bar Harbor, Semifinalists: Jerry Hatch, Lubec, Randy Therrien, Unity; Pro Eliminator: 1. Ron Buffington, Millinocket, 2. Russell Calder, Campobello New Brunswick; Semifinalists: Mike Jordan, Hancock, Bob Reynolds, Winterport; Bikes/Sleds: 1. Jon Weeks, Waterville, 2. Paul Keaten, Athens; Seminalist: Jim Marston, Fairfield; Street Eliminator: 1. Gage Reynolds, Bangor, 2. Bill Dammier, Deer Isle, Semifinalist Tim Wilcox, Easton

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like