May 26, 2018
Portland Latest News | Poll Questions | Farm Bill | Memorial Day | Pigs Buried

UNE celebrates outstanding Maine women

Courtesy of University of New England
Courtesy of University of New England
Recipients of the University of New England’s Deborah Morton Award were (from left) Susan A. Carlisle of Bangor; Dr. Wendy Wolf, founding president and CEO of the Maine Health Access Foundation; UNE President Danielle Ripich; Donna Lee Litchfield Cheney of Falmouth and former chair and vice chair of Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences; and Chief Brenda Commander of the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians.

PORTLAND, Maine — The University of New England honored outstanding Maine women of achievement at its 51st annual Deborah Morton Convocation and Awards ceremony on Sept. 18, on its Portland campus.

Honored were:

Chief Brenda Commander. Elected in 1997 as the first woman chief in the history of the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, Commander is in her second term as tribal chief, responsible for overseeing the entire operations and functions of the Maliseet Tribal government. She has worked for the tribe for the past 30 years. She has been recognized by the American Association of University Women of Maine with the Women in Government Award, and with the International Rotary Club Paul Harris Fellow Award. Earlier this year, Maine Gov. Paul LePage appointed her to the Permanent Commission of the Status of Women. She also is a member of Maine Development Foundation’s Leadership Maine Sigma Class.

Susan A. Carlisle. For more than 35 years, Carlisle has been involved in many nonprofit organizations in the Bangor area, including the Junior League, Cub Scouts, Odyssey of the Mind, Children’s International Summer Villages, the Bangor Symphony Orchestra, Junior League and the Maine Discovery Museum. She served for 15 years as a member of the Bangor School Committee and the United Technologies Center. She has been a member of the city of Bangor’s Commission on Cultural Development, serves as a trustee of Husson University, and as a corporator at Eastern Maine Healthcare Systems.

Donna Lee Litchfield Cheney. Cheney is the former chairwoman and vice chairwoman of Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences. Her leadership was key in providing the foundation for the laboratory to build its new facility in East Boothbay. She is a 1962 graduate of Westbrook Junior College, which merged with UNE in 1996. She has served as a member and former president of the Westbrook College Alumni Association, and as a trustee of Westbrook College and UNE.

Dr. Wendy J. Wolf. Wolf is the founding president and CEO of the Maine Health Access Foundation. She has worked at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as a senior adviser to the administrators of the Health Resources and Services Administration as well as the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Her policy work was recognized with the Health and Human Services Secretary Donna Shalala’s Award for Distinguished Service.

For information, go to

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like