June 23, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Winner of Speedway 95 Late Model race hinges on post-race test

HERMON — Danny Blanchard of Bangor, the 2010 Speedway 95 Little Enduro champion, appeared to have won his career first Dysart’s Late Model feature Saturday night at Speedway 95, but a post-race inspection found that his crate motor did not still contain the required seal.

That indicated that the motor had not been worked on since being sealed by Butler and MacMaster Automotive of Hallowell, the official engine shop of Speedway 95.

Speedway 95 management has agreed to hold the finish of the race in suspense until the motor, which has been removed from the car, is taken to Butler and MacMaster on Monday to be tested. If it passes the test, Blanchard will be allowed to keep the win.

Blanchard had led from the pole to lap 33 when a yellow flag bunched the 17-car field up for a two-lap dash to the finish.

Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs, who had run second for most of the race, challenged Blanchard over the last two laps, but was unable to unseat Blanchard from the top spot and finished second. Ryan Deane was third, Andy Saunders of Ellsworth finished in fourth with John Kalel II of Orrington finishing fifth. All positions are unofficial until the Blanchard motor test is completed on Monday.

OTHER 95 RESULTS: Strictly Street: 1. Andrew McLaughlin, Harrington; 2. Bob Seger Jr., Frankford; 3. Shelby Kimball, Cornville; 3. Cody Brassbridge, Frankfort; 4. David Gray, Dixmont; 5. Ren Dorr, Addison; Sport Four: 1. Bradley Dolan, Carmel; 2. Brad Bosworth, Cornville; 3. Fred Ashmore, Hancock; 4. Ted Ryder, Carmel; 5. Emma Libby, Glenburn; Sportsman (first feature): 1. Kris Watson, Hermon; 2. Brad Norris, Ellsworth; 3. Jeremy Glazier, Appleton; 4. D.J. Moody, Prospect; 5. Steve Moulton, Holden; Sportsman (second feature): 1. Joe Leger, Milford; 2. Kris Watson, Hermon; 3. D.J. Moody, Prospect; 4. Brad Norris, Ellsworth; 5. Steve Moulton, Holden; Bomber: 1. Jeremy Scott, Carmel; 2. Bob Seger Jr., Frankfort; 3. Mark Lane, Newport; 4. Andrew Crosby, Hermon; 5. Joey Doyon, Winterport; Stars of Tomorrow: 1. Dylan Street, Old Town; 2. Dustin Durrell, Newburgh; 3. Kyle Moore, Frankfort; 4. Caleb Kalen, Old Town; 5. Alex Runci, Belfast.

WINTERPORT DRAGWAY: At Winterport, Rick Hunnewell of Ellsworth captured the Super Pro/Pro Final Sunday while Randy Herrick of Stockton Springs finished second. OTHER WINTERPORT RESULTS: Super Pro Eliminator Race: 1. Rick Hunnewell, Ellsworth, 2. Bob Cousins, Brewer, Semifinalist Paul Henckel, Old Orchard Beach; Pro Eliminator: 1. Randy Herrick, Stockton Springs, 2. Skip Taylor, Surry, Semifinalist Dwight Overlock, Owls Head

Bikes/Sleds: 1. Jim Marston, Fairfield, 2. Paul Keaten II, Athens, Semi Finalist Jon Weeks, Waterville; Street Eliminator: 1. Brock Wakefield, Unity, 2. Gage Reynolds, Bangor, Semifinalist Christine Leeman, Letang N.B. , Semifinalist Donnie Perkins, Blue Hill

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like