June 22, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

John Kalel II holds off Ryan Deane in Speedway 95 Late Model feature


HERMON, Maine — John Kalel II of Orrington led the Dysart’s Late Model feature from the green to the checkers Saturday night at Speedway 95, but never led by more than a car length in the caution-free 35-lap event.

Kalel started from the pole by winning a qualifier earlier in the program and had Winterport’s Ryan Deane behind or beside him for the entire distance. Deane tried running the inside several times, attempting to take the lead from Kalel, but Kalel kept his cool and fought off each challenge.

Deane finished second, with Hermon’s Mike Hopkins finishing third after coming from his 12th- place starting position in the 14-car field. Once Hopkins got to the leaders, he couldn’t advance past them as they were running side by side for the final five laps, with Kalel winning by less than a car length. Phil Richardson of Hermon finished in fourth, with Bangor’s Donny Blanchard picking up his first top five of the season.

Andy Saunders of Ellsworth won the first qualifier, but had to start near the rear of the field because of his top three finish the week before.

New England 35: 1. Bradley Dolan, Glenburn; 2. Andrew Crosby, Hermon; 3. Keith Ogden, Holden; 4. Donny Silva, Hudson; 5. Gerry Phillips, Hermon; Bomber Division: 1. Jeremy Scott, Carmel; 2. Mark Lane, Newport; 3. Andrew Crosby, Hermon; 4. Scott Bonney, Bangor; 5. Mark Sawyer, Corinth; Strictly Streets: 1. Andrew McLaughlin, Harrington; 2. Shelby Kimball, Cornville; 3. Alex Berry, Harrington; 4. Dave Brannon, Lisbon; 5. Duane Dunifer Sr., Carmel

Sportsman: 1. Steve Moulton, Holden; 2. Derek Mingo, Lamoine; 3. Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 4. Mike Overlock, Franklin; 5. Dustin Bisson, Greene

UNITY RACEWAY: Brian Whitney of Burnham roared from back in the pack to claim victory in the Late Model main event Saturday night at Unity Raceway, earning his third trip to victory lane this season at Unity Raceway.

Whitney took the top spot away from three-time track champion Frank Moulton of Burnham and wasn’t seriously challenged over the last dozen circuits of the 35-lap feature race.

Moulton finished second, David Folsom II of Skowhegan was third, Jeff Burgess of Fairfield took fourth and Ajay Picard of Palmyra finished fifth.

Saturday’s Results — Wildcat: 1. Chris King, Burnham; 2. Brent Chase, Burnham; 3. Ryan Robinson, Clinton; 4. Ed Gilblair, Skowhegan; 5. Wes Turner, Montville; Late Model Pro Four: 1. Norm Cummings, Jr., Augusta; 2. Steve Rackliff, Starks; 3. Tim Robinson, Clinton; 4. Alex Fernald, Benton; 5. Scott Horne, Benton; Monster Mini: 1. Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 2. Tim Collins, Farmingdale; 3. Cole Robinson, Clinton; 4. Jayson Bosworth, Cornville; 5. Matt Shaw, Burnham; Flyin’ 4: 1. Kayla Allen, Penobscot; 2. Mike Dulaney, Richmond; 3. Henry Boudreau, Benton; 4. Mike Mathieu, Oakland; 5. Samantha Farnham, Benton; Challenger: 1. Ken Lord, Waterville; 2. Robert MacDonald, Oakland; 3. Christie Foster, Skowhegan; 4. Matt Picard, Unity; 5. Robert Corson, Benton; Sunday’s results — Late Model (34 laps): 1. Brian Whitney, Burnham; 2. David Folsom II, Skowhegan; 3. Ben Clark, Houston, Texas; 4. Louie Picard, Palmyra; 5. Jeff Burgess, Fairfield; Wildcat (34 laps): 1. Brent Chase, Burnham; 2. Chris King, Burnham; 3. Andrew McLaughlin, Harrington; 4. Craig Robbins, Montville; 5. Joe Harriman, Liberty; Flyin’ 4 (20 laps): 1. Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 2. Cody Robbins, Oakland; 3. Alica Goodwin, Clinton; 4. Samantha Farnham, Clinton; 5. Henry Boudreau, Benton; 6. 88x Wes Turner, Montville; Enduro (34 laps): 1. Justin Moore, Madison; 2. Ken Lord, Waterville; 3. Mike Mason, Skowhegan; 4. Robert MacDonald, Oakland; 5. Ed Archer, Skowhegan; Bag Race (5 laps): 1. Brad Bosworth & Natalie Michaud; 2. Zach Audet & Ed Archer; 3. Christie Foster & Colby Robbins; Jack & Jill Race (5 laps): 1. Zach Audet & Lacey Merrill; 2. Colby Robbins & Christie Foster; 3. Brad Bosworth & Natalie Michaud; Backward Race (3 laps): 1. Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 2. Brad Bosworth, Cornville; 3. Dylan Turner, Freedom

WINTERPORT DRAGWAY: Randy Herrick of Stockton Springs captured first place in the Super Pro/Pro Final Sunday. Craig Cousins of Hermon finished second in the event.

Super Pro Eliminator: 1. Craig Cousins, Hermon, 2. Jamie Watson, Gouldsboro, Semifinalist Chip Malcolm, S. China; Pro Eliminator Results: 1. Randy Herrick, Stockton Springs, 2. Russell Calder, Campobello N.B., Semifinalist Dwight Overlock, Owls Head, Semifinalist Robin Reynolds, Winterport; Bikes/Sleds Results: 1. Jon Weeks, Waterville, 2. Jim Martson, Fairfield, Semifinalist Paul Keaten II, Athens; Street Eliminator Results: 1. Gage Reynolds, Bangor, 2. Les Foss, Bar Harbor, Semifinalist Bill Dammier, Deer Isle, Semifinalist Brock Wakefield, Unity

PASS NORTH 150: Cassius Clark raced home to a first-place finish in the PASS North 150 Sunday at White Mountain Motorsports Park in North Woodstock, N.H. Joey Pole finished second in the race, Johnny Clark took third, D.J. Shaw placed fourth and Travis Benjamin took fifth.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like