NBA says foul called incorrectly against Celtics

The Associated Press
Posted May 11, 2012, at 6:46 p.m.

NEW YORK — The NBA says a foul against Boston with 3.1 seconds left in Atlanta’s season-ending loss on Thursday should have been called sooner, which would have given the Hawks a free throw instead of just the ball out of bounds.

The Celtics’ Marquis Daniels held the Hawks’ Al Horford as Atlanta was inbounding the ball trailing 81-79. Referee Eric Lewis called a foul, but ruled it came after Marvin Williams had released the ball, meaning it was just a common foul that resulted in another throw-in.

However, replays showed the foul occurred before the ball was passed and should have been treated as an away-from-the-play foul, in which case Atlanta would have been awarded one free throw and retained possession of the ball.

Boston won 83-80 to take the series 4-2.

http://bangordailynews.com/2012/05/11/sports/nba-says-foul-called-incorrectly-against-celtics/ printed on December 20, 2014