May 27, 2018
Politics Latest News | Poll Questions | Vintage Levis | Memorial Day | Boston Red Sox

Two Aroostook County men sworn in as LURC commissioners

By Kevin Miller, BDN Staff

AUGUSTA, Maine — The Land Use Regulation Commission has two new members.

Durward Humphrey of Benedicta and James May of Mapleton were sworn in Wednesday and will participate in their first LURC meeting this Friday in Calais. Both men were nominated by Gov. Paul LePage and approved by the Legislature.

Humphrey is CEO of Katahdin Valley Health Center in Patten, a registered Maine Guide, director of the Patten Lumberman’s Museum and represents the Unorganized Territory on the Aroostook County Budget Committee. Humphrey also served on the most recent task force that recommended ways to reform LURC.

May is a retired forester who held positions with International Paper and later with Prentiss & Carlisle. While with Prentiss & Carlisle, he represented the company on the administrative committee of North Maine Woods Inc. May has served on the Ashland planning board and Town Council and still does part-time forestry consulting and maintenance work at Red River Camps in Deboullie Township.

LePage administration nominees now occupy five of the seven seats on LURC. A bill that would restructure LURC — including how the commissioners are selected — is awaiting final action in the Legislature.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like