June 24, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Lone Star Ticks | Foraging | Bangor Pride

Defending champ Burgess triumphant at Unity Raceway


UNITY — Defending Unity Raceway Late Model champion Jeff Burgess of Fairfield kicked off the 2012 points-earning season the way he ended the 2011 campaign — in victory lane at Unity Raceway.
Burgess chased down early race leader (and opening-day winner) Brian Whitney in the 35-lapper, then held off a stiff challenge from Burnham’s Justin Drake to earn his first win of the season.
Ajay Picard of Palmyra bounced back from an early spin to post a third-place finish. Oakland’s Mike Landry rebounded from a visit to the pit and a trip to the rear of the restart lineup to claim fourth position. Whitney, who won the heat race, crossed the line in fifth position.
Wildcat (20 laps):
1. Brent Chase, Burnham; 2. Joe Hariman, Liberty
Late Model Pro Four (20 laps): 1. Steve Rackliff, Starks; 2. Alex Fernald, Benton; 3. Bryan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 4. Bill Ellis, Parkman; 5. Dylan Lancaster, Skowhegan
Monsta Mini (20 laps): 1. Cole Robinson, Clinton; 2. Tim Collins, Farmington; 3. Jayson Bosworth, Cornvile; 4. Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 5. Brad Bosworth, Cornville
Flyin 4 (20 laps): 1. Mike Dulaney, Richmond; 2. Cody Robbins, Oakland; 3. Paul Jackson, Fairfield; 4. George Fernald III, Benton; 5. Paul Shorete, Waterville
Challenger (25 laps): 1. Robert MacDonald, Oakland; 2. Ken Lord, Waterville; 3.Ed Archer, Skowhegan; 4. Bob Corson, Benton; 5.Troy Rusconi, Clinton
Sunday’s results
Gamblers race:
1. Randy Therrien, Unity; 2. Cici Eberle, Searsmont; semifinalist, Robin Reynolds, Winterport

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like