June 20, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Immigration | Lumber Market | RCV Ballots

Raymond promoted at Hampden Academy; Cheverus’ Hoyt named athetic director of year

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

Hampden Academy is in search of its third athletic administrator in as many years after the promotion of Nick Raymond to assistant principal at the school.

Raymond was approved for his new post during the most recent meeting of the SAD 22 board of directors, according to superintendent of schools Rick Lyons.

Raymond, a Hampden resident, had served as assistant principal and athletic director at Ridge View Community School in Dexter and the former Dexter Middle School for five years before being named athletic administrator at Hampden Academy last summer. He replaced David Shapiro, now the athletic administrator at Greely of Cumberland Center.

Raymond also taught mathematics at Hampden Academy for two years before taking the Dexter post.

Lyons said school officials hope to find Raymond’s replacement as athletic administrator from among the other applicants for the assistant principal’s position.

Hoyt, Kiah among MIAAA honorees

Gary Hoyt, athletic administrator at Cheverus High School in Portland, was selected as the 32nd recipient of the Robert Lahey MIAAA Athletic Director of the Year award during the Maine Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association’s recent spring conference held at the Samoset Resort.

Hoyt was honored for his longtime service to interscholastic athletics in southern Maine as well as the Southwestern Maine Activities Association. In addition, Hoyt has been an active member of the Maine Principals’ Association Sports Medicine Council, a leader in developing the concept of “tiered scheduling” for some interscholastic sports in the state and for his accomplishments in support of girls’ athletics at Cheverus.

Keith Weatherbie, retired athletic administrator at Cape Elizabeth High School, was the recipient of the Martin Ryan CMAA Award of Excellence, presented annually to an individual considered to be in the “best of the best” category in the field of athletic administration.

Dennis Kiah, outgoing athletic administrator at Brewer High School, received the Gerry Durgin Excellence in Leadership Award presented annually to an individual who has distinguished him-herself as a leader in athletic administration in Maine.

Sanford athletic administrator Gordon Salls received the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators State Award of Merit award for his longtime service to local and state athletic activities.

Toby Nelson of WZON-AM in Bangor and Kalle Oakes of the Lewiston Sun Journal received media awards for their work in promoting interscholastic athletics in Maine.

Gene Keene, athletic administrator at Brunswick High School, received the Past President’s Memorial Award for his work in the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference and was selected from a host of individual league special achievement award winners.

For his special achievement work in statewide athletics, Dr. William Heinz of Portland was presented the Lawrence LaBrie Award. Heinz represents Maine on the National Federation of State High School Association’s Sports Medicine Council and will become the chairman of this national committee. In addition, he is a founder and current vice president of the Maine Concussion Management Initiative.

Scott Whalen of Auburn received the Special Achievement Award on the Local Level for his involvement in managing and directing the Edward Little Athletic Boosters for many years as well as serving as the supervisor and director of the Suburban Little League complex in Auburn.

Academic Scholar-Athlete Scholarships of $500 were presented to Jeremy Read of Oxford Hills of South Paris and Janelle Bouchard of Kennebunk. Scholar essayists receiving $250 scholarships were Jennifer Grolimund of Lawrence of Fairfield and Tim Dow of Leavitt of Turner Center.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like