May 22, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Marijuana Ties | Mary Mayhew | Car Theft

Messalonskee’s Dexter heads Eastern Maine Class B hockey all-stars

OAKLAND, Maine — Sam Dexter, who led the Messalonskee Eagles to the state Class B ice hockey championship game, has been named player of the year for the Eastern Maine Class B all-stars ice hockey team that was announced recently.

Dexter, who also was named the Pine Tree Conference Class A football player of the year last fall and is a baseball star for the Eagles, earned a spot on the East Class B hockey first team as a forward.

Messalonskee teammates Travis St. Pierre, a defenseman, and Nate Delgiudice, a goalie, join Dexter on the first team, along with Brewer defenseman Mike Shedd and forward Kyle Alexander and Presque Isle forward Isaac Lajoie.

Old Town placed a pair on the second team, forward David Wilcox and goalie Nathan Colannino. Brewer forward Spencer Valley, Messalonskee forward Chase Cunningham, Orono defenseman Andrew Holt and Presque Isle defenseman Colin McKay round out the second team.

Named to the third team were forwards Connor Shaw of Presque Isle, Tyler White of Brewer and Matt Cloutier of Orono; defensemen Brody Valley of Brewer and Peter Wilcox of Orono; and goalie Michael Brown of Orono.

Eagles coach Mike Latendresse was named coach of the year, and Orono received the sportsmanship award.

There were only four returnees from last year’s all-star team. Lajoie, Colannino and White were second-teamers last year, while Wilcox was on the third team.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like