May 22, 2018
The Weekly Latest News | Poll Questions | Marijuana Ties | Mary Mayhew | Car Theft

Dog owners reminded to license their dogs in January

By Debra Bell, Of The Weekly Staff

The state of Maine wants to remind dog owners to license, or relicense, their pooches by January 31. Licenses may be obtained through the town office or by registering online at

The cost to license a spayed or neutered dog is $6 per license and $11 for an unfixed dog. There is an additional fee of $1 to license a dog online. Registering a dog after Feb. 1 will result in a fee of $25 plus the cost of the registration, except in the case of new adoptions.

The fee supports:

  1. Local animal control officers and state humane agents
  2. The investigation of animal cruelty complaints and enforcement of animal welfare laws
  3. Compliance with rabies vaccination of dogs
  4. Care for sick or injured strays
  5. Return of lost dogs to their owners.

All dogs over the age of 6 months need to be licensed in the town where the dog resides. For newly adopted pooches, owners must license the dog within 10 days of the adoption.

To register a dog online, visit You’ll need the following items in hand:

  1. Credit card
  2. License/tag number (for renewals only)
  3. State of Maine rabies certificate
  4. Veterinarian’s name and phone number
  5. The spay or neuter certificate (if the dog has been “fixed”)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like