April 22, 2018
Business Latest News | Poll Questions | Kenduskeag Canoe Race | Barbara Bush Funeral | Bangor Savings Bank

Exeter man elected president of National Potato Council

Steve Crane of Exeter, new President of the National Potato Council.


BANGOR, Maine — Steve Crane of Exeter was elected this month to serve as president of the National Potato Council for 2012.

Three other Maine potato growers were elected to the council’s board of directors: Brent Buck of Buck Farms in Chapman; Dominic LaJoie of LaJoie Growers in Van Buren; and Darrell McCrum of County Super Spuds in Mars Hill.

The National Potato Council’s leadership is comprised of U.S. potato growers nominated by their state organizations and elected by their peers.

Crane is the co-owner of Crane Brothers Inc. where he and his cousin, Jim Crane, are third-generation farmers. Crane Brothers farms approximately 3,000 acres, 1,300 of which are planted for chipping potatoes with the rest dedicated to corn and small grains.

Crane became involved with NPC when the farm won the organization’s 2002 Environmental Stewardship Award.

“I attended NPC’s annual meeting to receive the award,” Crane said. “While I was there, I participated in some of the meetings and became very interested in the council’s public policy work. I decided to get more involved to try to help our industry.”

He served on the council’s board of directors for two years before being elected to the executive committee, where he was vice president of the grower and public relations committee as well as the finance and office procedures committee. Crane also serves on the Maine Potato Seed Board and the Maine Potato Growers board of directors and has been a local school board member for 16 years.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like