Hampden’s Doyon, Orono’s Mowrer among Fitzpatrick Trophy semifinalists

Posted Nov. 30, 2011, at 9:22 p.m.
Last modified Dec. 01, 2011, at 12:24 p.m.

PORTLAND — Twelve of the state’s top high school senior football players have been named semifinalists for the James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy.

Among the semifinalists for the annual award, given annually to the state’s top senior football player, student and sportsman, are Jeddy Doyon of Hampden Academy and Dominic Mowrer of Orono.

Doyon, a tight end and linebacker, led coach Harry McCluskey’s Broncos in tackles for the second straight year and earned first-team All Pine Tree Conference Class B recognition on defense and second-team honors on offense in helping Hampden advance to the Eastern Maine Class B semifinals.

Mowrer, a running back and defensive back, helped Orono make its first appearance in the LTC Class C championship game in 15 years. Mowrer led the conference in rushing, surpassing 1,000 yards for the third straight season while leading coach Bob Sinclair’s Red Riots to a 9-2 record.

Other Eastern Maine standouts to earn Fitzy semifinalist status were Shaun Carroll Jr. of Lawrence of Fairfield, Jordan Hersom of Leavitt of Turner Center and Izaiha Tracy of Mt. Blue of Farmington.

Also in contention for the state’s top individual high school football award are Sam Chaves of Massabesic of Waterboro, Donald Clark of Cape Elizabeth, Spencer Cooke of Cheverus of Portland, Luke Libby of Thornton Academy of Saco, Logan Mars of Scarborough, Graham Strondak of Westbrook and Louis DiTomasso of Wells.

The three finalists will be announced on Dec. 18, with the winner to be recognized Jan. 15 during a banquet at the Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland.


View stories by school