Farms in two Maine counties eligible for disaster loans

Posted Nov. 14, 2011, at 8:24 p.m.

CONCORD, N.H. — Farms in parts of New Hampshire, Vermont and Maine are eligible for low-interest loans to cover losses from flooding, hail and heavy rains, including Tropical Storm Irene, that started on May 1.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated eight counties in New Hampshire, five in Vermont and two in Maine as natural disaster areas on Nov. 9.

The designation means the qualified farmers in those counties are eligible for emergency loans from U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency.

The areas covered are Oxford and York counties in Maine; Belknap, Coos, Hillsborough, Strafford, Carroll, Grafton, Rockingham and Sullivan counties in New Hampshire; and Caledonia, Essex, Orange, Windham and Windsor counties in Vermont.