January 21, 2019
Cross Country Latest News | Bangor Mall | Patriots | Bar Harbor Ferry | Today's Paper

Camden Hills girls win KVAC Class B cross country title

AUGUSTA — The youth movement was served for the Camden Hills of Rockport girls cross country team on Saturday, as three freshmen helped the Windjammers win the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference Class B championship at Cony High School.

Camden Hills outscored Class B runnerup Waterville 37-77, and also outpointed KVAC Class A leaders Brunswick and Mount Ararat of Topsham in the combined scoring.

Mount Ararat edged second-place Bangor by nine points to win the Class A boys title, while Maranacook of Readfield won the KVAC Class B boys title

The Camden Hills girls were led by sophomore Brittany Bowman, who placed second to Class B girls champion Bethanie Brown of Waterville. Brown was timed in 20 minutes, 2 seconds for the 3.1-mile course.

But the Windjammers’ depth was fully in evidence, with freshman Willow Parker third, junior Emily Lopez fifth and freshmen Samantha Morse and Ella Scott placing 14th and 15th.

Winslow (81), Maranacook of Readfield (110) and Leavitt of Turner Center (122) completed the Class B girls top five.

Brunswick edged Mount Ararat 42-43 to win the Class A girls crown. Erzsie Nagy of Lawrence of Fairfield won the individual title in 19:55.8, but Teresa Murphy led Brunswick’s cause with her second-place finish.

Mt. Blue of Farmington (88), Hampden Academy (108), Brewer (165) and Bangor (173) completed the top six in the team standings, with Hampden’s effort featuring top-10 finishes from Elizabeth Lebun (fifth) and Kylee Parker (ninth).

Mount Ararat used a third-place finish from Andy Reifman-Packett as the catalyst for an 80-89 victory over Bangor in the Class A boys division.

Lewiston (119), Hampden (126) and Brewer (153) completed the top five teams.

Harlow Ladd of Messalonskee of Oakland won the race in 17:28.3.

Bangor was led by a third-place finish from sophomore Jon Stanhope, while Jonathan Belanger (12th), Jake Archer (14th), David Correale (21st) and Nate Ivey (38th) rounded out the Rams’ scoring contingent.

Caleb Lord placed ninth to lead Hampden’s effort.

In Class B, Maranacook scored 67 points to win the boys race, with Medomak Valley of Waldoboro (104) edging Lincoln Academy of Newcastle (105), Waterville (106) and Winslow (120) in a tight battle for second place.

Nick Shuckrow of Winslow was the individual champion in 18:02.3, followed by second-place Kelby Mace of Maranacook and Ben Trapani of Camden Hills.

Medomak Valley was led by Mason Vermillion’s fifth-place finish.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like