June 23, 2018
Basketball Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Midcoast Hall to honor high school standouts

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

The Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame has announced the 10 finalists for its 2011 High School Athlete of the Year awards.

The finalists were selected recently by the Midcoast Hall of Fame’s board of directors after considering a number of student-athletes for the honor.

The five male finalists are twin brothers Isaac and Kyle Durkee of Medomak Valley of Waldoboro, Bryant Matthews of Georges Valley of Thomaston, Tyler McFarland of Camden Hills of Rockport and Luke Morrill of Rockland.

The five female finalists are Kasey Benner of Medomak Valley, Paige Bradshaw of Rockland, Marnie Merrill of Camden Hills, Natasha Seavey of Rockland and Alanna Vose of Medomak Valley.

High schools from within the Midcoast area — Rockland, Camden Hills, Medomak Valley,

Georges Valley, Vinalhaven, North Haven and Islesboro — were asked to nominate two

male and two female candidates. Rockland and Georges Valley have since merged to form Oceanside High School.

The candidates for the Hall awards were asked to complete a questionnaire and return it to the board to be considered for the honor, with those candidates nominated by their school but failing to complete the questionnaire not considered for the award.

The 2010 winners were Danielle Frye of Georges Valley and McFarland.

This year’s honorees will be announced during the annual Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame banquet to be held Oct. 15 at the Rockland Elks Lodge.

During the proceedings, Dave Ames, Anna Goodale, Robert Green, Scott Johnson, Darrell “Skip” Pound, Darryl Townsend, the late Gary Kenniston and the late Allan Middleton will be inducted into the Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame. Dinner begins at 6 p.m., with the induction ceremony to follow at 7.

Tickets for the are $25 each or $30 per person after Oct. 9 and are available by calling various committee members including Dave Ames at 789-5118 and Helen Plourd at 446-1888.

More details also may be found at twww.midcoastsportshalloffame.com.


Former University of Maine basketball standouts Dave “Hawk” Anderson, Kevin Nelson and Dean Smith will be among the inaugural inductees in the Foxcroft Academy Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday evening.

Induction ceremonies will be held during a 5 p.m. banquet at the school’s dining hall, according to FA athletic administrator Tim Smith, and the hall’s Class of 2011 also will be recognized during halftime of Foxcroft’s 7 p.m. homecoming football game against Stearns of Millinocket at Oakes Field.

Anderson ‘69, Nelson ‘75 and Smith ‘86 are three of the 11 inductees who will be honored.

Also slated for induction are Lloyd Blethen ‘43, Roger Davis ‘52, Arthur “Skip” Hanson ‘62, Stephanie Higgins Smith ‘88, Kelly Dow Anderson ‘97, Josh Pelletier ‘06, current Ponies field hockey coach and educator Gene Philpot, and former coach, athletic director and educator Ernest “Lap” Lary.


Longtime Winslow High School football coach Mike Siviski entered an exclusive club last Saturday, with the Black Raiders’ 16-6 win over Maranacook of Readfield marking the 200th victory of his career.

Siviski, in his 27th season with the Black Raiders, is now 200-73.

His coaching resume also includes five state championships — the most recent back-to-back Class B crowns in 2000 and 2001 — and seven Eastern Maine titles, most recently in 2006.

Winslow is playing its first season in Western Maine Class C this fall and is off to a 3-0 start heading into Friday night’s game at 2-1 Winthrop.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like