Swoboda hangs on for Speedway 95 victory

Posted Sept. 04, 2011, at 9:22 p.m.

HERMON — Dale Swoboda of Hermon survived a caution-ridden Late Model feature race to post his third victory of the season Saturday night at Speeway 95.

Winterport’s Shane Clark used the final lap to earn a second-place finish, passing Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs who finished third. Deane Smart of Bradley finished in fourth place, followed by Donny Blanchard of Bangor.


SPORTSMAN: 1. Steve Moulton (Holden), 2. Deane Smart (Bradley), 3. D.J. Moody (Prospect), 4. Gene Wasson (Greenbush), 5. Mike Overlock (Franklin); STRICTLY STREET: 1. Andrew McLaughlin (Harrington), 2. Jim Carr Jr. (Clifton), 3. Ryan Beale (Cherryfield), 4. Shawn Hamel II (Bangor), 5. Al Libby (Belfast); SPORT-FOUR: 1. Steve Heath (Milo), 2. Becky Elston (Carmel), 3. Keith Ogden (Dedham), 4. Chelsea Young (Winterport), 5. Bradley Norris (Ellsworth); BOMBER: 1. Emma Libby (Glenburn), 2. Ted Ryder (Carmel), 3. Darren Durrell (Newburgh), 4. Ryan Modery (Hermon), 5. Jeremy Scott (Carmel)

Unity Raceway

At Unity, Jeff Burgess of East Madison outdueled Will Collins of Waldoboro to pick up his fifth Late Model feature race win of the season Saturday at Unity Raceway.

Collins earned a second place finish while Washington’s John Rideout claimed a season-best third-place finish. Deuce Folsom and Ben Clark of Clinton rounded out the top five, respectively.


WILDCAT: 1. Maurice Young (Chelsea), 2. Carl McAlpine (Burnham), 3. Chris King (Burnham), 4. Kris Matchett (Skowhegan), 5. Ed Sleeper (Vassalboro); PRO FOUR: 1. Steve Rackliff (Starks), 2. Norm Cummings Jr. (Augusta), 3. Lance Chapman (Benton), 4. Tim Robinson (Clinton), 5. Bill Ellis (Parkman); MONSTER MINI: 1. Zach Audet (Skowhegan), 2. Greg Cummings (Augusta), 3. Richard Jackson (Charlestown), 4. Brad Bosworth (Cornville), 5. Matt Shaw (Burnham); FLYIN’ 4: 1. Brad Bosworth (Cornville), 2. Jayson Bosworth (Cornville), 3. Nate Tribbett (Pittston), 4. Kyle Robinson (Clinton), 5. Bruce Nickerson (Noridgewock); CHALLENGER: 1. Eric Peavey (Clinton), 2. Chad Folsom (Skowhegan), 3. Nate Tribbett (Pittston), 4. Kyle Robinson (Clinton), 5. Bruce Nickerson (Noridgewock); CHALLENGER: 1. Eric Peavey (Clinton), 2. Chad Folsom (Skowhegan), 3. Ken Lord (Waterville), 4. Bill Sodulsky (Fairfield), 5. Louie Stillman (Clinton); TEEN THUNDER: 1. Austin Clemons (Norridgewock), 2. Emily McAlpine (Burnham), 3. Kyle Jackson (Fairfield), 4. Derek Pariseau (Brooks), 5. Cody Robbins (Montville); ENDURO: 1. John McCarron (Newport), 2. Paul Jackson (Augusta), 3. Kersley Santos (Waterville), 4. Mika Wilson (Chelsea), 5. Mike Stowe (Waterville)


View stories by school