June 19, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Susan Collins | Tiny House Surprise | Stephen King

Taylor wins second ACT race after White runs out of fuel


OXFORD — Jeff Taylor of Farmington cruised to his second American-Canadian Tour Late Model victory of the season after Winthrop’s Jeff White ran out of fuel with eight laps remaining in the 150-lap race Saturday night.

Fort Kent’s Austin Theriault placed second, point leader Brian Hoar of Williston, Vt., was third followed by Eddie MacDonald of Rowley, Mass., and Turner’s Glen Luce.

Taylor scored his first win of his career at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough in July.

It was the third-straight top five finish for Theriault. He placed second last week at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and was fifth at Beech Ridge.


1. Jeff Taylor (Farmington), 2. Austin Theriault (Fort Kent), 3. Brian Hoar (Williston, Vt.), 4. Eddie MacDonald (Rowley, Mass.), 5. Glen Luce (Turner), 6. T.J. Brackett (Buckfield), 7. Wayne Helliwell Jr. (Dover, N.H.), 8. Dave Farrington Jr. (Jay), 9. Joey Polewarczyk Jr. (Hudson, N.H.), 10. Randy Potter (Groveton, N.H.), 11. Tim Brackett (Buckfield), 12. Nick Sweet (Barre, Vt.), 13. Corey Morgan (Lewiston), 14. John Donahue (Grainteville, Vt.), 15. Ricky Rolfe (Albany Township), 16. Shawn Martin (Turner), 17. Brent Dragon (Milton, Vt.), 18. Ben Ashline (Pittston), 19. Travis Stearns (Auburn), 20. Matt Sanborn (West Baldwin), 21. Sam Sessions (South Paris), 22. James Linardy (Somerville, Mass.), 23. J.R. Baril (Haverhill, Mass.), 24. Jeff White (Winthrop), 25. Pete Yetman (Peru, Mass.), 26. Mark Lamberton (Mooers Forks, N.Y.), 27. Doug Coombs (Livermore Falls), 28. Tommy Ricker (Poland), 29. Ray Parent (Tiverton, R.I.), 30. Jean-Paul Cyr (Milton, Vt.), 31. Dave Wilcox (Fairfield, Vt.), 32. Rowland Robinson Jr. (Birch Harbor), 33. Joey Laquerre (E. Montpelier, Vt.), 34. Garry Chaisson (Peru), 35. Jimmy Childs (Mechanic Falls), 36. Chris Smith (Buxton)

Swoboda prevails at Speedway 95

At Hermon, Dale Swoboda of Hermon stayed ahead of crashes behind him and cruised to victory in the Late Model feature at Speedway 95 Saturday night.

Winterport’s Ryan Deane finished second with Deane Smart of Bradley on his bumper for third. Brenton Parritt of Steuben was fourth and Shane Clark of Winterport finished fifth.


SPORTSMAN: 1. Deane Smart (Bradley), 2. Steve Moulton (Holden), 3. Nate Weston (Norridgewock), 4. Jeremy Glasier (Appleton), 5. D.J. Moody (Prospect); SPORT FOUR: 1. Becky Elston (Carmel), 2. Keith Ogden (Dedham), 3. Mike Heath (Brownville), 4. Matt Shaw (Burnham), 5. Steve Heath (Milo); STRICTLY STREET: 1. Andrew McLaughlin (Harrington), 2. Shelby Kimball (Cornville), 3. Ren Dore (Addison), 4. Jim Carr Jr. (Clifton), 5. Cody Brassbridge (Winterport); BOMBER: 1. Emma Libby (Glenburn), 2. Ryan Modery (Hermon), 3. Andrew Crosby (Hermon), 4. Ken Ogden (Seal Cove), 5. David Ogden (Old Town)

Turner wins at Unity

At Unity, Freedom’s Tim Turner earned the win in the 35-lap Late Model feature at Unity Raceway on Saturday night. Jeff Burgess of East Madison was second, David Folsom I of Skowhegan was third, Tyler Robbins and Craig Robbins, both of Montville, rounded out the top five.


WILDCAT: 1. Maurice Young (Chelsea), 2. Chris King (Burnham), 3. Carl McAlpine (Burnham), 4. Kris Matchett (Skowhegan), 5. Ed Sleeper (Vassalboro); LATE MODEL PRO FOUR: 1. Tim Robinson (Clinton), 2. Steve Rackliff (Starks), 3. Lance Chapman (Benton), 4. Norm Cummings Jr. (Augusta); MONSTER MINI: 1. Zach Audet (Skowhegan), 2. Brad Bosworth (Cornville), 3. Richard Jackson (Hudson), 4. Tim Collins (Farmingdale), 5. Mike Wilson (Chelsea); FLYIN FOUR: 1. Jayson Bosworth (Cornville), 2. Brad Bosworth (Cornville), 3. Nate Tribbett (Pittston), 4. Cole Robinson (Clinton), 5. Mika Wilson (Chelsea); CHALLENGER: 1. Chad Folsom (Skowhegan), 2. Eric Peavey (Clinton), 3. David Aldrich (Unity), 4. Ken Lord (Waterville), 5. Mike Stowe (Waterville); TEEN THUNDER: 1. Emily McAlpine (Burnham), 2. Kyle Jackson (Fairfield), 3. April McAlpine (Burnham), 4. Wes Turner (Montville), 5. Cody Robbins (Montville); ENDURO: 1. Christie Foster (Norridgewock), 2. Ed Sleeper (Vassalboro), 3. John McCarron (Newport), 4. Kersley Santos (Waterville), 5. Rick Poulin (Winslow)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like