April 22, 2018
Education Latest News | Poll Questions | Stoned Pets | Kenduskeag Canoe Race | Barbara Bush

School news Aug. 4

Want to share something through School News? Send it along. Items are due at least seven to 10 days before the Thursday of publication. Email: beacon@bangordailynews.com. Mail: The Beacon, P.O. Box 1329, Bangor 04402.


Maine Media Workshops

ROCKPORT — The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs has approved many of Maine Media Workshops’ one-, two- and four-week classes as education programs for the Post 9/11 GI Bill.

Maine Media College’s Professional Certificate and MFA degree programs received approval in 2010. Now military personnel seeking training in the fields of filmmaking, photography and multimedia may apply for tuition assistance for their education at Maine Media, either short- and long-term programs through the VA.

The Post 9/11 GI Bill (also known as Chapter 33 benefits) became effective Aug. 1, 2009.

“Our programs are ideal for U.S. service members looking to complement their training, make a career change to the media arts or fulfill a the goal of achieving an MFA,” said Maine Media Dean and Director of Education Elizabeth Greenberg. “Whether through week-long workshops, a residency, or a college program, Maine Media offers the hands-on educational tools needed for veterans transitioning to civilian media careers.”

For workshops registration and college admissions information, visit http://www.mainemedia.edu/, email info@mainemedia.edu or call 877-577-7700.

University of Maine Farmington

FARMINGTON — These area students were named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at University of Maine at Farmington:

Belfast: Ellen Marlow.

Burnham: Jacob Marcoux.

Damariscotta: Nicaela Giglia, Nicholas Waltz.

Islesboro: Natasha Nelson.

Islesford: Christina Blank.

Lincolnville Center: Jennifer Grinnell.

Morrill: Darcie Simmons.

Palmyra: John Buys, Derek Trogdon.

Prospect: Chelsea Porter.

Rockland: Melissa Burgess, Logan Faulkingham, Kyle Sareyani.

Searsport: Casey Ashey, Katherine Cook.

Swans Island: Liela Banks.

Tenants Harbor: Kristen Bisson.

Thomaston: Holly Ames-Allan.

Troy: Jill Barnes.

Union: Jennifer Baum, Jacquelyn Murphy.

Vinalhaven: Kayla Conway.

Waldo: Jillian Ross.

Waldoboro: Hilary Harkins, Amanda Reibel.

Warren: Courtney Leach.

Winterport: Samantha Dunton, Kayla Smith, Matthew Wibberly, Kayla Worster.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like