March 19, 2018
Aroostook Latest News | Poll Questions | Andrew McCabe | Civil War Gold | Marissa Kennedy

Getchell elected new Micmac leader

By Natalie Bazinet, Caribou Aroostook Republican & News

PRESQUE ISLE — Members of the Aroostook Band of Micmacs held an election earlier this month to determine who would be the new chief and vice chief, as well as who would sit on the Tribal Council.

Richard Getchell was voted the new chief and Peggy Caparotta will serve as the new vice chief.

Norman Bernard, Fred Getchell, Gail Jewell, Dora Dow, Paul Francis, Cheryl Smart, Shannon Hill, Katie Espling and Richard Silliboy all were voted onto the Tribal Council.

All recently elected officials are scheduled to take office on Tuesday, Aug. 9.

Election results include:

For Chief: Getchell, 65; Victoria Higgins, 46; Teresita Hamil, 30; Jerich Morey, 22; and Roger Pictou, 7.

For Vice Chief: Peggy Caparotta, 94; and Fred Peter-Paul, 69.

For Tribal Council: Norman Bernard, 103; Fred Getchell, 83; Gail Jewell, 83; Dora Dow, 81; Paul Francis, 81; Cheryl Smart, 81; Shannon Hill, 80; Katie Espling, 77; Richard Silliboy, 70; Mary Sanipass, 65; Paul Phillips, 60; Roldena Sanipass, 50; Vickie Zetterman, 47; Lesa Bennett, 47; Erika Engstrom, 39; Betty St. John, 37; Marcella Walton, 37; Sue Blanchard, 35; Jesse Pinette, 34; Margaret Johnson, 31; Roberta Murray, 28; Beth Guyan, 27; Michael Henderson, 25; Adam Murphy, 25; Amber Getchell, 23; Richard Dyer, 21; and Blanche Jewell, 19.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like