May 27, 2018
Education Latest News | Poll Questions | George HW Bush | Memorial Day | Long Creek

School news



School supply drive

BREWER — The Brewer Federal Credit Union will hold a school supply drive to benefit students who may need a little help in affording the supplies they will need this year.

Donated school supplies for students of all ages are being accepted through Aug. 26 at the North Main Street and Dirigo Drive branches of Brewer Federal Credit Union.

“We have been so fortunate to be able to count on the generosity of our members, volunteers and staff,” bank officials said. “We are committed to continuously working toward our goal of an ever-present community spirit.”

For more information, contact David Defroscia, vice president of operations, at 989-7240.


Hofstra University

EDDINGTON — Hannah Taylor of Eddington has been named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Hofstra University in Hempstead, N.Y.

Hofstra University is a private institution offering 150 undergraduate and 160 graduate programs, as well as a school of law.

MGH Institute

BANGOR — Scott Smith of Bangor has graduated with a master’s degree in nursing from Massachusetts General Hospital Institute of Health Professions in Boston. He was one of 399 students in the graduate school’s Class of 2011.

An independent and innovative academic affiliate founded by Massachusetts General Hospital in 1977, the MGH Institute is accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.

Maine Maritime Academy

CASTINE — The board of trustees of Maine Maritime Academy will meet at 8:30 a.m. Friday, Aug. 12, in the Holmes Alumni Heritage Room in the Harold Alfond Student Center on campus. The meeting will be part of the annual meeting of the board of trustees and the board of directors of the MMA Alumni Association. At the beginning of the trustees’ meeting, the MMA Alumni Association will present a report.

Standing committees of the board of trustees will meet throughout the day — finance committee, audit committee, educational policy committee, facilities and property committee, advancement committee, and student affairs committee.

Victoria Larson of Windham is the chairman of the 16-member board of trustees of Maine Maritime Academy.

Salve Regina University

HAMPDEN — Lana Hoertz of Hampden, a junior, was named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Salve Regina University in Newport, R.I.

Dean’s list students must earn a GPA of 3.6 or higher.

Salve Regina is a Catholic, coeducational university founded by the Sisters of Mercy. Its 80-acre oceanfront campus is in the heart of the Ochre Point-Cliffs National Historic District.

Taylor University

CARMEL — Amanda Hall of Carmel was named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Taylor University in Upland, Ind.

Students named to the dean’s list must earn a GPA of 3.6 or higher.

Founded in 1846, Taylor University is an interdenominational liberal arts university of evangelical faith. Taylor University is a member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities.

University of Maine at Machias

MACHIAS — These area residents were named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at the University of Maine at Machias:

• Bangor: Paul Baker, Laura Giebfried, Elizabeth Van Uden.

• Bucksport: Michelle Pereira.

• Hampden: Jonathan Fisk.

• Holden: Tina Sullivan-Thorp.

• Orono: Victoria Perkins.

• Orrington: Katharin Cheney.

• Winterport: Melody Tracy.

The University of Maine at Machias is New England’s only public environmental liberal arts college, offering an undergraduate education grounded in the natural, social, cultural and economic environments of coastal Maine.

Highest honors are awarded to students who earn a semester GPA of 3.7 or better, high honors to those with a GPA of 3.5-3.69, and honors to those with a GPA of 3.2-3.49.

University of New Hampshire

DURHAM, NH — These area students have been named to the dean’s list at the University of New Hampshire for the spring semester:

• Bangor: Dylan George, honors.

• Brewer: Shunsuke Sasaki, high honors; Evan Taylor, honors.

• Castine: Katherine Bertrand, honors.

• Frankfort: Elizabeth Eden.

• Hampden: Elizabeth Brooks, highest honors; Lauren Maltz, highest honors.

• Milford: Meghan Curtis, high honors.

• Newburgh: Zoe Kapler, honors.

• Orono: Benjamin Innis, honors.

Williams College

BANGOR — Two Bangor residents received bachelor’s degrees on June 5 from Williams College in Williamstown, Mass. They are:

• Jennifer M. Rowe, daughter of Matthew and Randi Rowe, environmental science. She participated in JV soccer; Thursday Night Group, an environmental club; Catalyst, Winter Blitz Community Weatherization Committee; and the cycling team.

• Mara N. Shapero, daughter of Jane and Paul Shapero, chemistry. She participated in women’s crew team, was social coordinator of the Jewish Religious Center, co-founder and co-president of Ephs for Israel, member of Dining Services Student Committee, in-class teacher’s assistant at Williamstown Elementary School, mentor-tutor at Mount Greylock High School, and SAT tutor for high school students.

Founded in 1793, Williams is an undergraduate, residential, privately endowed liberal arts college.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like