June 18, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Susan Collins | Tiny House Surprise | Stephen King

McLaughlin wins inaugural Ikey Dore Memorial

BDN staff and wire reports

HERMON — Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington led from green flag to checkered flag Thursday night while earning the victory in the first annual Ikey Dore Memorial 50-lap Street Stock race held at Speedway 95.
McLaughlin claimed all the prize money for the race, including the $1,000 winner’s check and $1,250 in bonus money for leading all 50 laps.
Carl McAlpine of Burnham took second place in the event, followed by Mac Hannon of Union, Larry Emerson of Durham and Shawn Hamel of Bangor.
McLaughlin was able to maintain the lead in his Camaro, even though the race was slowed by six caution periods.
The race was run to honor Dore, a longtime Speedway 95 driver who died of a heart attack at the track in 2009.
DYSART’S LATE MODEL: 1. Dale Swoboda (Hermon), 2. Mike Hopkins (Hermon), 3. Ryan Dean (WInterport), 4. Bob Seger Jr. (Frankfort), 5. Shane Clark (Winterport); SPORTSMAN: 1. D.J. Moody (Prospect), 2. Jeremy Glasier (Appleton), 3. Mike Overlock (Franklin), 4. Gene Wasson (Greenbush), 5. Steve Moulton (Holden); SPORT-FOUR: 1. Bradley Norris (Ellsworth), 2. Steve Heath (Milo), 3. Bradley Dolan (Winterport), 4. Mike Heath (Brownville), 5. Josh Dillon (Milo); BOMBERS: 1. Andrew Crosby (Hermon), 2. Ryan Modery (Hermon), 3. Emma Libby (Glenburn).

Tatro claims PASS win
At Lee USA Speedway in Lee, N.H., Shane Tatro of Holden remained near the front and avoided a couple of late-race dust-ups to claim the victory in the Pro All Stars Series Sportsman feature held Tuesday night.
Tatro and Carey Martin were chasing leader R.J. Austin when the latter spun his tires on a lap 68 restart, allowing Tatro and Martin to move in front. Four laps later, Martin and Austin collided, opening the door for Tatro to take the checkers.
Kenny Marnier of Littleton, N.H., was second and Scott Dorr of Portland took third. Lyman McKeage of Gorham and Craig Smith of Waterboro wound up fourth and fifth, respectively.
PASS MODIFIEDS (40 laps): 1. Andy Shaw (Center Conway, N.H.), 2. Richie Ferriera (Raynham, Mass.), 3. Mark Lunblad Jr. (Conway, N.H.), 4. Dana Reed (Shapleigh), 5. Alan WIlson (Hebron)

X Games star 22nd
LOUDON, N.H. — X Games star Travis Pastrana finished 22nd in NASCAR K&N Pro Series East on Friday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.
The action sports star formed a team called Pastrana-Waltrip Racing, with Michael Waltrip and Gary and Blake Bechtel. Driving the No. 99 Toyota, he was never in the hunt to catch winner Max Gresham.
Pastrana is set to make his debut in the second-tier Nationwide Series later this year.
Pastrana is a star in Moto X, X Games and American rally racing. He’s won 16 gold medals in the X Games, and has multiple supercross, motocross and rally championships in his career. He also has set motorcycle and automobile jump records.
He also wants to drive in the highest level in NASCAR.

IndyCar upholds suspension
INDIANAPOLIS — IndyCar officials have upheld suspensions issued to Indy Lights team O2 Racing Technology and team owner Mark Olson after an appeal, and they remain banned from the series through the end of 2012.
Olson was suspended for allegedly encouraging others to breach contracts with IndyCar and withdraw from the Indy Lights race in Milwaukee last month. O2 Racing Technology was the only entrant to withdraw, removing its No. 36 and 63 entries from the participant list.
IndyCar says the actions violated several Indy Lights rules, including “engaging in unsportsmanlike conduct or conduct detrimental to racing.”
The protest hearing was held by race director Tony Cotman on Thursday.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like