June 21, 2018
Education Latest News | Poll Questions | Family Separations | Boston TV | LePage Troops

Phi Beta Kappa honor society recognizes Maine students


The Phi Beta Kappa Association of Maine has announced the 2011 Academic Achievement Award winners. This year, 120 high schools throughout the state participated in the award program.

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious college honor society in the United States. Phi Beta Kappa Academic Achievement Awards are conferred on one high school junior in each participating school who is going on to higher education and demonstrates high academic achievement and intellectual curiosity in and beyond the classroom. By sponsoring the awards, the Phi Beta Kappa Association of Maine seeks to reward outstanding high school students and foster a greater commitment to the study of the liberal arts and sciences.

The award winners include:

• Ashland Community High School, Brooke LaBelle

• Bangor Christian School, Samantha Martin

• Bangor High School, Joshua Elwood

• Belfast Area High School, Kristen A. Martin

• Boothbay Region High School, Kahla Vise

• Brewer High School, Eric Arnold

• Bucksport High School, Sadie Wight

• Calais High School, Adam Geel

• Camden Hills Regional High School, Richard D. Saltonstall

• Caribou High School, Renee Dube

• Central High School, Corinth, Katrina Lessard

• Central Aroostook High School, Mars Hill, Victoria McIntyre

• Deer Isle-Stonington High School, Emily Cormier

• Dexter Regional High School, Sarah Johnson

• East Grand School, Danforth, Mitchell Bartlett

• Easton Junior-Senior High School, Holden Turner

• Ellsworth High School, Isabelle Vachon

• Fort Fairfield Middle-High School, Kacie K. York

• Foxcroft Academy, Dover-Foxcroft, Christopher Shorey

• George Stevens Academy, Blue Hill, Tatiana Urban

• Georges Valley High School, Thomaston, Erika L. Brooks

• Greenville Middle-High School, Steven W. Bilodeau

• Hampden Academy, John Bjorn

• Hermon High School, Ashley Harvey

• Hodgdon High School, Taylor Dwyer

• Houlton High School, Cody Woods

• Islesboro Central School, Dashiell Marley

• John Bapst Memorial High School, Bangor, Katherine Morelli

• Jonesport-Beals High School, Robbi Carver

• Katahdin High School, Stacyville, Sonja Williams

• Lincoln Academy, Newcastle, Hunter Reid

• Machias Memorial High School, William Baker

• Madawaska Middle-High School, Gregoire Faucher

• Madison Area Memorial High School, Alex Helderman

• Maine Central Institute, Pittsfield, Paula Arias

• Maine School of Science & Mathematics, Limestone, Minkyu Kim

• Mattanawcook Academy, Lincoln, Erica McPhail

• Medomak Valley High School, Waldoboro, Hillia Aho

• Mount View High School, Thorndike, Anna Piotti

• Narraguagus High School, Harrington, Rachel Eaton

• Nokomis Regional High School, Joseph H. Garcia

• North Haven Community School, Leta Hallowell

• Old Town High School, Danielle Harrington

• Orono High School, Alexander Bulteel

• Penobscot Valley High School, Howland, Gary J. Bragdon

• Penquis Valley High School, Milo, Stephanie Vachon

• Presque Isle High School, Kent Charles Smith

• Schenck High School, East Millinocket, Justin Juchnik

• Searsport District High School, Hannah Betit

• Shead High School, Eastport, Shelby Seavey

• Skowhegan Area High School, Aren R. LeBrun

• Southern Aroostook Consolidated School, Dyer Brook, Taylor Locke

• Stearns High School, Millinocket, Lilly N. Dow

• Sumner Memorial High School, Sullivan, Brianna Fernandez

• Upper Kennebec Valley Junior-Senior High School, Bingham, Hali McQuilken

• Van Buren District Secondary School, John Parent

• Vinalhaven School, Blake Reidy

• Washburn District High School, Kelsey Churchill

• Washington Academy, East Machias, Nicole Harmon

• Wiscasset High School, Abigail Ruth Foster

• Wisdom Middle-High School, St. Agatha, Brendan Lavoie

• Woodland High School, Kimberly Carter

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like