April 21, 2018
Living Latest News | Poll Questions | NEA Poetry Suit | Kenduskeag Stream Race | Maine Legislature

Special Olympics presented with midcoast donations


ROCKLAND, Maine — The Kiwanis Club of Rockland recently presented donations totalling $2,585 to the area Special Olympics.

Club president Marjorie Kinney and past president Jackie Harjula made the presentation to Special Olympia team members Peter Paradis, Matt Brough, Linda Russell, Tamya Carter, Joshia Rhodes, Jackie Dudley, Jarrod Lima and Teresa Hart.

Bangor woman given hospice award

BANGOR — Hospice of Eastern Maine has presented Joan Letourneau of Old Town its highest honor: The Patricia Jameson Award for Hospice Volunteer Excellent.

The award was presented during HOEM’s recent volunteer appreciation dinner and recognition in honor of the “significant hours of quality, compassionate care she provided a terminally-ill patient an the patient’s family in 2010.”

Trained as a HOEM volunteer in 2002, Joan spent 161.75 hours with the patient and family she served in 2010 reminiscing, listening to concerns and allaying the patient’s fears while providing respite time for family caregivers.

A retired adult education teacher and 25-year breast cancer survivor, Joan is an active member of Holy Family Church in Old Town, the Red Hat Society and an affiliate of the Good Shepherd Sisters of Quebec.

She enjoys spending time at home and camp with her husband, Tim, their children and grandchildren.

For more information about HOEM, its services or this award, visit www.emhospice.org or call 973-8269.

Nominations sought for breast cancer awards

PORTLAND — The Maine Cancer Foundation seeks nominations for its 2011 breast cancer contributor awards to be presented during its 10th anniversary Cure Breast Cancer for ME Luncheon Oct. 5 at Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland.

The event honors individuals who have made significant contributions to breast cancer care, education, research and support. Award nominations are accepted from neighbors, co-workers, local businesses and health care practices in the following categories: Outreach and Education, Medical Care and Research, Grassroots Advocate, The Meredith Burgess Spirit of Life and Lifetime Inspiration.

“Throughout Maine, we know there are many, many people who support the breast cancer cause,” said MCF executive director Tara Hill.

“We hope that Mainers all across the state will consider nominating these contributors who will be recognized” at the October luncheon.

For more information and nomination forms, call 773-2533 or visit http://www.curebreastcancerforme.org.

Maine students recognized by Kohl’s

Kohl’s Department Stores’ Kohl’s Cares Scholarship Program has announced 10 Mainers are among nearly 2,200 young volunteers nationwide who will receive a $50 gift card and recognition certificate for having made a difference in their communities.

State winners qualify for a $1,000 regional scholarship for postsecondary education to be awarded in July and, of more than 200 regional winners, 10 national winners each will receive a total of $10,000 in scholarships and Kohl’s will donate $1,000 to a nonprofit on each national winner’s behalf.

The Maine winners are Sydney Pepin, 12, Alfred; Tommy Hosmer, 10, Bangor; Kori Coro, 15, Jackman; Taylor Wotton, 12, Lincoln; Mackenzie Darling, 12, Livermore; Alexandria Thomas, 18, Pittston; Emily Buell, 17, Poland; Julia Pasquali, 14, Portland; Drew Landry, 17, Saco; and Ausashia Day, 12, West Newfield.

Household items given to Bangor Ronald McDonald House

Dirigo Pines Retirement Community in Orono activity assistant Jade Botting recently presented Darlene MacLeod, executive director of the Ronald McDonald House in Bangor, with several boxes of household items staff and residents had gathered to donate to the Ronald McDonald House. The facility provides welcoming, short-term accommodation for families whose children are receiving treatment at nearby medical facilities. Approximately 450 families are helped, each year, at the 14-bedroom Bangor Ronald McDonald House.

College scholarships given by Horatio Alger Association

For the first time, five Maine students have been awarded scholarships by the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans.

Elyse Bernard of Gould Academy in Bethel, Joshua Burton of Morse High School in Bath, Jennifer Halstead of Sanford High School, Skye Holt of Lincoln Academy in Newcastle and Aubrie Howard of Fryeburg Academy will each receive $5,000 toward their college education.

The students were selected for the Horatio Alger Maine Scholarship because they persevered in overcoming adversity while succeeding academically, contributing to the community and exhibiting exemplary character.

The Maine scholarships are made possible by the Suzanne and Walter Scott Foundation, the original founders of the state scholarship programs for the association. With their donation, the association now provides state scholarships in all 50 states for the first time in its history.

To view the complete list of Horatio Alger scholars and members, visit www.horatioalger.org.

The 2012 Horatio Alger Scholarship Application will be available beginning August 1 through October 30, 2011 at www.horatioalger.org/scholarships.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like