June 22, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

MacNevin earns Big Enduros victory

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

HERMON — Shawn MacNevin of Hudson snapped Eddie Cobb’s five-race winning streak in the Big Enduros division at Speedway 95 on Wednesday night.

MacNevin took the lead from Cobb on lap 3 and went on to win the 25-lap feature after holding off a challenge from Adam Gardner of Bangor. Cobb of LaGrange fell back in the pack and eventually retired to the pit with a burned wheel bearing.

Shawn Racila of Dover-Foxcroft finished third, followed by Bengie Littlefield of Brooks and Erlon Noyes of Garland.

Becky Elston of Carmel won the Ladies feature as Chelsea Young’s five-race winning streak fell by the wayside when she had to pit for a flat tire and fell four laps behind. Danielle Beale of Hampden finished a close second, followed by Kayla Allen of Penobscot, Nicole Smith of Bangor and Amy Houde of Howland.

Dana Harlow of Bucksport powered past Jim Carr of Clifton on the final lap to win the Pickup division. Peter Drake of Corinth was third, followed by David Gray of Dixmont and pole-sitter Anthony Moore of Brewer.

Matt Kimball of Cornville earned his sixth straight Stars of Tomorrow victory, inheriting the lead on lap 13 of the 15-lap event when D.C. Alexander of Carmel spun out of the lead in turn three.

Alexander finished second, followed by William McCullough of Kenduskeag, Robert Dyer of Canaan and Wes Turner of Montville.

Travis Beal led from the pole to the checkered flag to win the 20-lap Little Enduros race. Ted Ryder of Carmel was second, with Andrew Crosby of Hermon, Garret Hayman of Milford and Darren Durrell of Newburgh completing the top five.


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like