May 25, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Farm Bill | Memorial Day | Pigs Buried

Carr wins pickup truck race at Speedway 95


HERMON — Jim Carr Jr. of Clifton captured the pole in the qualifying race and then went on to win the Pickup Truck division with a dominating performance at Speedway 95 Wednesday night.
Peter Drake of Corinth challenged Carr during the race, but couldn’t pass him, and finished in second place. Dana Harlow of Bucksport finished third, David Gray of Orrington took fourth and Mike Lynch of Winterport captured fifth.


LITTLE ENDURO: 1. Ted Ryder (Carmel), 2. Zach Audet (Skowhegan) 3, Darrin Durrell (Newburgh), 4. Andrew Crosby (Hermon), 5. Chris Carroll (Greenbush); BIG ENDURO: 1. Ed Cobb (LaGrange), 2. Shaun MacNevin (Hudson), 3. Erlon Noyes (Garland), 4. Shawn Racilla (Dover-Foxcroft), 5. Roger Gardner (Brewer); LADIES DIVISION: 1. Chelsea Young (Winterport), 2. Becky Elston (Carmel), 3. Danielle Beale (Hampden), 4. Amy Houde (Ellsworth), 5. Kayla Allen (Penobscot); STARS OF TOMORROW: 1. Matt Kimball (Cornville), 2. Ricky Pease Jr. (Detroit), 3. Wes Turner (Montville), 4. Darit Him (Lamoine), 5. Emma Libby

NASCAR race set Sunday
SONOMA, Calif. — This week’s NASCAR Sprint Cup race is set for Sunday at 3 p.m. at road course Infineon Raceway.
In last year’s race, Jimmie Johnson won for the first time on a road course, taking advantage of Marcos Ambrose’s gaffe. Ambrose lost the lead when he stalled his engine trying to conserve gas under caution with six laps left. He restarted seventh and finished sixth.
In last week’s race, Denny Hamlin raced to his first victory of the year, holding off Matt Kenseth at Michigan International Speedway. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver also won the 2010 June race at the track.
RACING NOTES: Jeff Gordon has a Cup-record nine road-course wins, five at Sonoma and four at Watkins Glen. … Juan Pablo Montoya won the 2007 race for his first Cup victory. He also won last year at Watkins Glen. Before joining NASCAR, the Colombian won seven Formula One races, the 1999 Champ Car title and 11 open-wheel races. … Tony Stewart has seven round-course wins, two at Infineon and five at Watkins Glen. … Carl Edwards leads the season standings, 20 points ahead of Kevin Harvick. Dale Earnhardt Jr. is third, 27 points behind Edwards. … NASCAR fined Joe Gibbs Racing cre w chiefs Mike Ford, Dave Rogers and Greg Zipadelli $50,000 each for bringing unapproved oil pans to Michigan. They also were placed on probation through the end of the year. Competition director Ji mmy Makar and car chiefs Chris Gillin, Wesley Sherrill and Jason Shapiro also were placed on probation.
Next race: Coke Zero 400, July 2, Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, Fla.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like