Guestrated.com source for campground ratings

Posted May 31, 2011, at 10:58 a.m.

MURRIETA, Calif. — TripSetter.com, Expedia.com and Priceline.com all offer consumers the ability to provide some sort of review of their hotel experiences.

But where do you go if you want to find unbiased, consumer-based reviews and ratings on campgrounds? GuestRated.com.

Since its launch in 2008 by Bob MacKinnon, a former Disney executive, GuestRated.com has compiled over 85,000 consumer reviews and displays information on more than 12,000 campgrounds, RV parks and resort across the U.S. and Canada.

“At GuestRated.com, we’ve tried to make it easy for consumers to find reliable information about campgrounds, including reviews, that will help them make informed travel decisions,” said Bob MacKinnon, president of GuestRated, in a press release.  “In order to assure that reviews are valid, guests provide an email address when they submit a review”, he said.  “We protect every guests’ privacy, but we need to be certain that the review is coming from a real camper.  Phony reviews don’t help campgrounds or other campers.”

GuestReviews also compiles an annual listing of campgrounds, RV parks and resorts that earned all around “A” ratings from consumer reviews. Thirty-three parks earned all around “A” grades in GuestRated’s 2010 surveys. They include:

— Ashland Resort, Northfork, W.V., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.atvresort.com

—   Buffalo Lake Camping Resort, Montello, Wis., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.buffalolakecamping.com

—   Buttonwood Campground, Mexico, Penn., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.buttonwoodcamp.com

—  Chalk Creek Campground & RV Park, Nathrop, Colo. a two-time “A” grade winner, www.chalkcreek-campground.com

—   Cherry Hill Park, College Park, Md., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.cherryhillpark.com

—  D & W Lake Camping and RV Park, Champaign, Ill., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.dwlake.com

—   Dogwood Acres Campground, Newville, Penn., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.dogwoodcamping.com

—  Gettysburg Campground, Gettysburg, Penn., a two-time “A” grade winner, www.gettysburgcampground.com

—  High Plains Camping, Oakley, Kan., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.highplainscamping.com

—   Keen Lake Camping & Cottage Resort, Waymart, Penn., a two-time “A” grade winner, www.keenlake.com

—  Hocking Hills KOA, Logan, Ohio, a three-time “A” grade winner, www.hockinghillskoa.com

—  Kozy Rest Kampground, Harrisville, Penn., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.kozyrestcampground.com

—  Lake George RV Park, Lake George, N.Y., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.lakegeorgervpark.com

— Las Vegas RV Resort, Las Vegas, Nev., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.lasvegasrvresort.com

—  Magnolia RV Park & Campground, Kinards, S.C., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.magnoliarvparksc.com

—   Meadowcliff Lodge & RV Resort, Coleville, Calif., a two-time “A” grade winner, www.meadowcliff.com

—  Mill Creek Ranch RV & Cottage Resort, Canton, Texas, a three-time “A” grade winner, www.millcreekranchresort.com

—  Misty River Cabins & RV Resort, Walland, Tenn., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.mistyriverrv.com

—  Mountain Vista Campground, East Stroudsburg, Penn., a two-time “A” grade winner, www.mtnvistacampground.com

—  Ocean Lakes Family Campground, Myrtle Beach, S.C., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.oceanlakes.com

—  Peace Valley Campground, Marble, N.C., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.peacevalleycampground.com

—  Pioneer Campground, Laporte, Penn., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.pioneercampground.com

—  Pontchartrain Landing, New Orleans, La., a two-time “A” grade winner, www.pontchartrainlanding.com

—   Red Apple Campground, Kennebunkport, Me., a two-time “A” grade winner, www.redapplecampground.com

—   Rincon Country East RV Resort, Tucson, Ariz., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.rinconcountry.com

—   South Haven Family Campground, South Haven, Mich., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.southhavenfamilycg.com

—   Sunny Brook RV Resort, South Haven, Mich., a three-time “A” grade winner, www.sunnybrookrvresort.com

—  The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course, Borrego Springs, Calif., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.springsatborrego.com

—  The Vineyards Campground & Cabins, Grapevine, Texas, a three-time “A” grade winner, www.vineyardscampground.com

—   Tiger Run Resort, Breckenridge, Colo., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.tigerrunresort.com

—   West Canada Creek Campsites, Poland, N.Y., a two-time “A” grade winner, www.westcanadacreekcampsites.com

—  Willow Tree Resort, Longs, S.C., a two-time “A” grade winner, www.willowtreerv.com

—  Wishon Village RV Park, Shaver Lake, Calif., a first-time “A” grade winner, www.wishonvillage.com

The GuestRated national online review program was launched in February 2008 in collaboration with the National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds and has since been expanded to include other associations and campground industry partner websites.

For more information about the GuestRated program, contact Bob MacKinnon of GuestRated.com at (877) 707-7080 and visit www.guestrated.com.

http://bangordailynews.com/2011/05/31/outdoors/guestrated-com-source-for-campground-ratings/ printed on December 17, 2014