June 18, 2018
Education Latest News | Poll Questions | Tiny House Surprise | Antiquing | Stephen King

Beacon School News, May 19, 2011

Want to share something through School News? Send it along. Items are due at least seven to 10 days before the Thursday of publication.

Email: beacon@bangordailynews.com

Mail: The Beacon, P.O. Box 1329, Bangor 04402


New Toddler Program

ROCKPORT — A new program for toddlers 18 months through 3 years old will be offered at Ashwood Waldorf School beginning in September.

The yearlong program follows the Ashwood school calendar and will meet 8:30 a.m. to noon Tuesdays and Wednesdays. It will be similar in content to the early childhood programs already offered by the school, which emphasize language development, imaginative play, purposeful work, motor skills development, social opportunities and artistic endeavors.

The deadline to enroll in the Toddler Program is June 30. Call the school at 236-8021 or email info@ashwoodwaldorf.org for more information.


University of Maine at Augusta

AUGUSTA — These area students graduated from the University of Maine at Augusta recently:

Belfast: Sherry Fennimore, Jodi King, Opal Ash, Melissa Wallace.

Belmont: Marc Box.

Brooks: Amanda Cushman, John Eastham, Marylyn Wood-Sinclair.

Camden: Laurie Bryant, Susan Goff.

Cushing: Heidi Alley, Katherine Alley, Michaelle Day, Katelyn Robbins.

Damariscotta: Ericka Fairfield, April Feltis.

Hope: Alice Heintzman.

Jefferson: Chelsea Colby,  Stacy Spinney, Karen Williford, Kim Anderson.

Knox: Patrick Johndro.

Liberty: Cady Steeves.

Lincolnville: Samantha Quinn.

Lincolnville Center: Kimberly Grinnell.

Montville: Margaret Raymond.

Northport: Tmana Toennis.

Owls Head: John Morse.

Palermo: Jeremy Brown,  Shawna Grady.

Rockland: Kymberly Marshall, Nicole Tyler, Meahgan Mckee, Frank Jay Pavalkis, Courtney York, Darla McFarland, Paul Surette, Robin Tripp, Jennifer Weymouth, Ali Turner, Zachary Cole, Jeffrey Lamkins, Stacey Leonard, Wendy MacDougall, Clelia Sigaud, Melissa Staples, Krista Pierce, Nancy Mathieson-Jeffers, Holly York.

Rockport: Elizabeth Burgess, Leonard Owens, Sally B. Ingram, Joanne Cookson.

Saint George: Tabitha Keating, Jonathan Moro.

Searsmont: Mary Cox, Tiffany Knox.

Searsport: Michelle Wilbur, Katherine Hecht.

South Thomston: Heather Baines, Evan Grant.

Spruce Head: David Williams.

Stockton Springs: Megan Seekins.

Tenants Harbor: Kristie Akselsen.

Thomaston: Willow Blanche Henry-Elwell, Jaime Edwards, Kyle Martin.

Union: Abigail Baker, Amy Lea.

Vinalhaven: Colleen Conlan.

Waldoboro: Tanya Robinson, William Shuman, Mary Mistovich, Stephanie Dent, Candace Whitney, Sara Hathaway.

Warren: Foster Bates, Kali Sue Fish Martin, Steven Lewicki, Mary Lynch, Louise Tanguay-Ricker, Shaun Libby.

Washington: Joanie Rhoda, Darci Linscott.

Winterport:  Nicole Hoad, Debra Fratini, Kimberly Nalewajek.

University of Maine at Farmington

FARMINGTON — These area students graduated May 14 from the University of Maine at Farmington:

Belfast: Jena Harvey, Ellen Marlow, Jillian Ross.

Damariscotta: Nicholas Waltz.

Freedom: Andrea Bryant.

Islesboro: Natasha Nelson.

Jefferson: Erich Scheffler, Carly Shea.

Rockport: Sara Cole, Catherine Garretson.

Searsport: Katherine Cook.

Swans Island: Liela Banks.

Thomaston: Matthew Judkins, Mara Steinhardt.

Thorndike: Lindsay Trafton.

Vinalhaven: Kayla Conway.

Waldoboro: Hilary Harkins, Elizabeth Hassett.

Warren: Lauren Stewart.

Winterport: Carmen Rioux.

Wiscasset: Summer Bowie, Samantha DiVece, Linda Thompson.

Maine Media College graduation

ROCKPORT — Students in the Maine Media College Professional Certificate

Program celebrate their graduation 5-8 p.m. Thursday, May 26, with public film screenings, a photography exhibition and artists’ reception.

Film screenings take place 5-6:30 p.m. in the Union Hall Theatre (2 Central St., second floor). Enjoy the filmmaking work of Tejasvi Bhalla, Helena Cerovic, Cole Christine and Sabrina Garnett. The photography exhibition and reception follow immediately from 6:30 to 8 p.m. just up the street at Maine Media Gallery (18 Central St.). Students Ruth Dudley-Carr, Lottie Hedley, Susan Landmann, Kim Miller and Jenny Sinclair share prints that are the culmination of their photographic study in Maine.

The midcoast community has had a great impact on the students’ experience during their academic year, particularly for the film students, who receive support from many business and property owners with props and locations. Student films feature a number of talented area actors, including Tod Widdecombe (South Thomaston), Scott Anthony Smith (Brooks), Stephanie McAllister (Washington) and Tim Sullivan (Rockland).

Business scholarships

ELLSWORTH — Applications currently are being accepted for the Maine Community Foundation’s Patriot Education Scholarship Fund.

This renewable scholarship is designed to support graduates of Maine high schools who currently are enrolled as full-time sophomores, juniors or seniors pursuing a business degreeat a college or university in Maine. Preference is given to applicants who have a demonstrated interest in personal and commercial insurance professions.

Deadline for applications is June 1. Applications are available at www.mainecf.org.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like