June 22, 2018
College sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Leaman named Div. I hockey coach of the year

By Larry Mahoney, BDN Staff

Nate Leaman of Union College was named the winner of the 2011 Spencer Penrose Award as the NCAA Division I Coach of the Year.

The announcement was made by the American Hockey Coaches Association on Wednesday.

Leaman, the former Old Town High School and University of Maine assistant hockey coach, guided the Dutchmen to a 26-10-4 record and the school’s first Cleary Cup (ECAC regular-season championship) and NCAA Tournament berth.

The Dutchmen were beaten by eventual national champion Minnesota-Duluth 2-0 in the East Regional semifinal in Bridgeport, Conn.

Union set school records for overall wins and conference wins (17).

It was the fourth straight season Union improved its win total.

Leaman has compiled an overall record of 138-127-35 record in his eight seasons at Union.

His Dutchmen led the nation in power-play percentage (29.5) and had the second-best goals-against average (2.10).

Leaman graduated from SUNY Cortland in 1997. He then attended the University of Maine, where he assisted Gene Fadrigon at Old Town High School before becoming a member of the Maine coaching staff. He was the volunteer graduate assistant during the Black Bears’ national championship season in 1998-99.

He left Orono to become an assistant coach at Harvard University.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like