May 27, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Memorial Day | Bangor Day Trips | Center for Wildlife

Brewer’s Kiah honored by state’s athletic administrators

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

ROCKPORT — Brewer High School athletic administrator Dennis Kiah was named the 31st recipient of the Robert Lahey Athletic Director of the Year award by the Maine Association of Interscholastic Athletic Administrators during that group’s recent annual spring conference held at the Samoset Resort.

Kiah was recognized for his service to students at Brewer High School in addition to the many student-athletes who are hosted annually at Brewer whether through regular-season league competition or invitational tourneys sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association. Kiah also was acknowledged for his work as a member of the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference.

Gerry Durgin, the outgoing athletic administrator of Gorham High School, received the Martin Ryan Award of Excellence presented annually to an individual considered to be in the “best of the best” category in the field of athletic administration.

Yarmouth athletic administrator Susan Robbins was presented the Gerry Durgin Excellence in Leadership Award given annually to an individual who has distinguished him or herself as a leader in athletic administration in Maine.

Alfred “Bunky” Dow, athletic administrator at Mount Desert Island of Bar Harbor, received the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators State Award of Merit award for his longtime service to local and state athletic activities.

Rene Cloukey of WAGM-TV in Presque Isle and Kevin Sjoberg of the Aroostook Republican received media awards for their work in promoting interscholastic athletics in Maine.

John Bernard, athletic administrator at Mountain Valley High School in Rumford, received the Past President’s Memorial Award for his work in the Mountain Valley Conference and was selected from a host of individual league special achievement award winners.

For his special achievement work in statewide athletics, retiring MPA Assistant Executive Director Jeff Sturgis was presented the Lawrence LaBrie Award.

Blaine Jack of Sanford received the Special Achievement Award on the local level for managing and directing youth baseball leagues in Sanford for the past 40 years. He also has been the official scorekeeper at Sanford for boys and girls basketball for more than three decades.

Academic scholar-athlete scholarships of $500 were presented to Thomas Bizier of Livermore Falls High School and Abbie Hutchinson of Yarmouth High School. Scholar essayists receiving $250 scholarships were Dacie Manion of Old Town High School and Benjamin Nickerson of Yarmouth High School.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like