May 27, 2018
Education Latest News | Poll Questions | Memorial Day | Bangor Day Trips | Center for Wildlife

2012 Teacher of the Year semifinalists announced


AUGUSTA, Maine – A review panel has narrowed the list of nominations for 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year to six semifinalists.

The semifinalists are Alana Margeson of Caribou High School, Meghan Schall of George B. Weatherbee School in Hampden, Tim Eisenhart of Westbrook High School, Paige Fournier of Lyman Moore Middle School in Portland, Jolene Randall of Tripp Middle School in Turner and Ingrid Stressenger of Pond Cove Elementary School in Cape Elizabeth.

The six semifinalists will undergo an intensive selection process that will include a school visit, a professional portfolio review and an oral presentation before the pool is narrowed to three finalists. Those finalists will then sit for an interview before the 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year is selected.

The review panels consist of past Teachers of the Year, principals, Maine Department of Education staff and members of professional education organizations and the business community. The 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year will be announced at a surprise all-school assembly in September.

The 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year will be the 47th educator to receive the honor. Shelly Moody, a third- and fourth-grade looping teacher at Williams Elementary School in Oakland, is the 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year. She is available to speak to schools, community groups and others.  More information on Moody and her primary topics of discussion can be found on the Maine Teacher of the Year website at .

The semifinalists were selected from a group of 10 nominees who were honored in a ceremony held March 23 in the State House Hall of Flags in Augusta. In addition to the six semifinalists, the other nominees included Rebecca Leamon of Mount Desert Island High School, Wanda Whitener of Tremont Consolidated School in Bass Harbor, David Arenstam of Thornton Academy in Saco, and Stephanie Gautreau of Yarmouth Elementary School.

Hannaford Supermarkets underwrites the cost of the Maine Teacher of the Year program. Starting with the 2012 Teacher of the Year, Bangor Savings Bank will reimburse the winner’s school district for the cost of substitutes while the Teacher of the Year is out of the classroom on official duties.

The program is coordinated by the Maine Department of Education and supported by the Maine State Board of Education and the Maine State Teacher of the Year Association.

More information about the award and the semifinalists can be found online at: .

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like