June 20, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Fuddruckers | Opioid Sales | RCV Ballots

Maine’s top swimmers, coaches gain honors

By Robby MacDonald, Special to the BDN

The Maine Interscholastic Swim League released the 2010-11 All-State Swim Team earlier this week and honored Swimmers of the Year in both Class A and Class B male and female leagues.

Speedy Bangor freshman Emma Waddell, who consistently displayed the ability to race multiple strokes while displaying the speed and the endurance to win across all distances, was voted Class A Swimmer of the Year. In Class A boys, Cape Elizabeth’s Marcus Cloutier received the honor.

Interestingly, Nico Schultz of Waterville and Max Grover of Ellsworth were both awarded the Swimmer of the Year in Class B. Schultz won two events, 200 individual medley and backstroke at the Class B state race. Grove swam an impressive 500 at the meet. Versatile and talented sophomore Sarah Easterling earned the selection for the Class B girls.

Julie Clifford, a senior at Bangor, was recognized by coaches as Class A Diver of the Year. Thornton Academy of Saco’s Tyler Gulden earned the Class A selection. Falmouth divers Ryan Conley and Nicola Mancini won the Class B diving awards.

Coach of the Year distinctions were presented to Greely of Cumberland Center’s Robert Hale (Class B boys), Foxcroft Academy’s Kathy Murray (Class B girls), Windham’s Peter Small (Class A boys) and in Class A girls Bangor’s Cindy Howard shares the honor with Small.  Robert Winslow of Belfast and Michael Bartley of Cape Elizabeth received the diving Coach of the Year honors.

All-state teams honored

The All-State teams identify two teams in each of the three relays and three individual racers in each event, the standard lineup for a six-lane dual meet competition. Numerous swimmers from central and eastern Maine earned distinctions on the elite squads.

Ellsworth’s Keith Chandler was named in three events, the 100-yard breaststroke, 100 butterfly and the butterfly leg on the 200 medley relay.

Senior Sam Barnett of Bangor’s state champion Rams earned an entry in the 100 breaststroke and the breaststroke leg in the medley relay. Teammate frosh David Smallwood was named to the anchor leg of the freestyle relay.

In Foxcroft, the Ponies, a team that scored impressively at both the Penobscot Valley Conference meet and the Class B state meet, placed two swimmers, Donnie Boyer (200 free relay) and Cam Fadley (200 individual medley), on the squad comprised of swimmers from the Class A and the Class B leagues.

Class B Waterville, coached by Bob Johnston, received seven spots on the team. Mahmoud Gad, 400 free relay, 500 free and the 200 free, was named in three events while teammate Nico Shultz received the entry in the 100 backstroke, 200 free relay, 200 individual medley, and the back leg in the medley relay.

Meanwhile, Waddell, was selected in four events, 500 free, 200 free, and the relays, 400 free and fly in the medley. Waddell’s teammate Jamie Hunsaker was named also in the 200 and 500 free. Bangor’s talented diver senior Julie Clifford also has a place on the team.

Chelsey Curran, who swam so well for Tony DeMuro and the Class B champion Trojans, has a spot on the speed team in the backstroke.

The All-Academic Team includes representatives from PVC teams:

Bangor: Isaac Walton, Samual Barnett, Julie Clifford, Jenny Dickson, Tyneshia Dias, Laura Pasquine, Sadie Redman; Bangor Christian: Grace Poulin; Brewer: Spencer Warmuth; Ellsworth: Ridge Jordan, Lyle Stephanson; George Stevens: Benjamin Avery; Mount Desert: Ryann Rourk, Morgan Harper, Augusta Blandford, Chelsey Curran; Foxcroft: Erin Boyer, Mamie Clark, Anastasia Kudsi; Old Town: Caleb Wallace, Taylor Ploch, Kai Hermansen, Chris Gilman, Dacie Manion; and Orono: Ruby and Veronica Wallace-Ewing

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like