June 21, 2018
Bangor Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Pride | Maple Syrup

Voters pick incumbents for two Orono council seats

By Eric Russell, BDN Staff

ORONO, Maine — Voters re-elected two incumbents to the Town Council during municipal elections on Tuesday.

Current council Chairman Geoff Gordon led the way with 316 votes, followed by Cynthia Mehnert with 278 votes.

Challengers Andrew Gavitt III (200 votes), Daniel LaPointe (68) and Kathleen Walton (67) rounded out the list of candidates.

For two open seats on the board of directors for RSU 26, which includes Orono, Veazie and Glenburn, voters selected newcomer Lisa Buck (327 votes) and former school board member James Bird (304) ahead of incumbent Geoffrey Wingard (247).

For the RSU 26 board, membership is determined by the population of each community in the district. Orono has five voting members, Glenburn has four, and Veazie has three.

Voter turnout on Tuesday was relatively heavy for a municipal election, according to Town Clerk Wanda Thomas. About twice as many people voted this year as voted in last year’s election.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like