June 22, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Camden Hills wins KVAC wrestling crown

BDN staff reports

TOPSHAM — Defending champion Camden Hills of Rockport advanced seven wrestlers to the championship finals Saturday and went on to win the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference title during the daylong meet at Mount Ararat School.

Camden Hills scored 249.5 points to best second-place Belfast (217.5) for the overall and Class B championships. Class A meet champion Mt. Blue of Farmington (153) was third, with Class B Morse of Bath (124) and Class A Skowhegan (118.5), Cony of Augusta (105.5) and Brewer (93) next in the 23-school field.

Jacob Powers, undefeated at 160 pounds this winter, was Camden Hills’ lone individual champion, outpointing previously unbeaten Brandon Corson of Skowhegan 5-0 in their championship final. Powers was named the meet’s outstanding Class B wrestler.

Six other Windjammers earned second-place finishes: Connor Winchenbach (103 pounds), Calen Bragg (125),, Tom Cassidy (130), Brandon Rich (140), Isaac Young (145) and Rhett Chase (215).

Three more Camden Hills competitors finished third in their weight classes including Max Bragg, who earned his 100th career victory en route to his victory in the consolation finals. Coleman Powers (119) and Anthony Batty (171) also placed third.

The Windjammers’ Levi Rollins was named KVAC Class B coach of the year.

Belfast crowned five individual champions, the most of any school in the tournament, and was particularly dominant in the lower weight classes where Evan Drinkwater (103), Jordan Young (119) and Brent Waterman (125) all won their weight classes along with Justin Philbrook (145) and Kornealius Wood (171).

Walker Roberts (112) added a second-place finish for the Lions, while Peter Kelley (189) finished third and Daniel Weiss (140) and Ethan Fitzjurls (152) each placed fourth.

Mt. Blue was led to its Class A victory by Khalil Newbill, individual champion at 112 pounds, and a second-place effort at 152 pounds by Chris Ingram. Morse had an individual champion in Aaron Mitchell (285)and two runnersup in Gary Stevens (119) and Sean Marrero (189).

Senior Kaleb Austin from Skowhegan was named the meet’s outstanding Class A performer after remaining unbeaten and winning the 140-pound class. Skowhegan’s Brooks Thompson and Tenney Noyes also were named KVAC Class A coaches of the year.

Marcus Eaton of Brewer placed second at 285 pounds, while Anthony Sprigg (125) and Cody Noyes (171) each placed fourth for the Witches.

Victor Irwin of Bangor finished fourth at 215 pounds.

Other individual champions were Jared Jensen of Brunswick (130), Dan DelGallo of Gardiner (135), Malcolm Marshall of Mount Ararat (152), and Michael Hamm (189) and Nick Wells (215), both of Oak Hill of Sabattus.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like