June 21, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Family Separations | Boston TV | LePage Troops

Martin wins Spud 150

By Joe McLaughlin, BDN Staff

CARIBOU — Shawn Martin of Turner took the lead after the halfway mark and held on to win the second annual Spud 150 held Sunday at Spud Speedway.

Finishing second was Ellsworth’s Andy Saunders, who despite several mishaps during the caution-laden event was able to survive each incident and provide a late-race challenge to the leader, but his hard-charging ways ultimately wore down his tires to the point where he was unable to pass Martin.

Finishing third was J.R. “Rockin'” Robinson of Steuben, while fourth place went to Deane Smart of Bradley.

The winner of the Maine Alliance Championship was 21-year-old Josh St. Clair of Liberty, who despite a flat tire finished fifth.

The Hard Charger award was won by Puncin St. Clair, also of Liberty.

Unity Raceway

At Unity, Fairfield’s Jeff Burgess earned his fourth Late Model feature victory while Frank Moulton of Burnham finished 10th to claim his third-straight track championship. Ed Drake of Vassalboro finished second to Burgess followed by Poncho Darveau of Chelsea, Markus Lowe of Jackson and Steve Rackliff of Starks.


Super Street: 1. Nick Huff (Orrington), 2. Ricky Burgess Jr. (Waterville), 3. Artie Maguire (Bucksport), 4. Josh Bailey (Wisacasset), 5. Nate Weston (Madison); Wildcat: 1. Andy Turbovsky (Winslow), 2. Carl McAlpine (Burnham), 3. Chris King (Burnham), 4. Maurice Young (Chelsea), 5. Ed Sleeper (Vassalboro); Late Model Pro Four: 1. Corey Walker (New Vineyard), 2. Bryan Lancaster (Skowhegan), 3. Steve Rackliff (Starks), 4. Alex Fernald (Benton), 5. Ben Clark (Clinton); Monsta Mini: 1. Mike Wilson (Chelsea), 2. Dylan Lancaster (Skowhegan), 3. John Fortin (Vassalboro); Flyin’ Four: 1. Justin Moore (Madison), 2. Brad Bosworth (Cornville), 3. Cole Robinson (Clinton), 4. Lance Chapman (Benton), 5. David Folsom II (Skowhegan); Ladies: 1. Mika Wilson (Chelsea), 2. Alicia Goodwin (Clinton), 3. Chelsea Young (Winterport); Teen Thunder: 1. Ricky Pease (Detroit), 2. Wes Turner (Montville), 3. Kyle Robinson (Clinton), 4. Emily McAlpine (Burnham), 5. Colby Robbins (Montville); Enduro: 1. Donny Silva (Hudson), 2. Zack Gagnon (Clinton), 3. Kayla Allen (Bucksport), 4. Ryan Chadwick (Wiscasset), 5. George Fernald III (Benton); NELCAR Legends: 1. Kevin Hutchens (East Waterboro), 2. Ed Field (Deep River, Conn.), 3. Bobby Weymouth (Topsham), 4. Alan Smith (Lincoln), 5. Matthew Burgoine (Newport)

Winterport Dragway

At Winterport, Fred Hutchinson of Auburn defeated Jerry Hatch of Lubec to claim the Super Pro/Pro Final Sunday afternoon.


Super Pro Eliminator: 1. Jerry Hatch (Lubec), 2. Dan Emerson (Hermon), semifinalist Nick Huff (Windham); Pro Eliminator: 1. Fred Hutchinson (Auburn), 2. Dave Kecki (Lowell), semifinalists Don Joy (Machias), Robin Reynolds (Winterport); Bikes/Sleds: 1. Brittney Marston (Fairfield), 2. Jon Weeks (Waterville), semifinalists Aaron Astle (Ellsworth), Joe Messina (Dexter); Street Eliminator: 1. Tim Wilcox (Easton), 2. Dan Poirier (Minot), semifinalists Bill Dammier (Deer Isle), Wayne Chadwick (South China); Street Trophy: 1. Brock Wakefield (Unity), 2. Ryan Francini (Winterport), semifinalists Nicole Spencer (Winterport), Gage Reynolds (Bangor)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like