April 25, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Deputy Shot | Cremated Ashes | Missing Boy

Phippen Jr. captures 95's Late Model feature

Bangor Daily News

  HERMON — John Phippen Jr. of Bar Harbor passed Bradley’s Deane Smart on the last lap to win the 35-lap Late Model feature race at Speedway 95 on Saturday night.

Phippen had come from the back of the 16-car field on a lap 4 restart to earn the win.

Smart had taken the lead from Hermon’s Mike Hopkins on lap 17 following a lengthy side-by-side battle.

Smart finished second, followed by Hopkins, Hermon’s Phil Richardson and Ryan Deane of Winterport.


Super Street: 1. Doug Sinclair (Hermon), 2. Jeremy Glasier (Appleton), 3. Joe Legere (Milford), 4. Mike Overlock (Franklin), 5. Artie McGuire (Bucksport); Strictly Street: Duane Seekins (Stockton Springs), Jim Carr Jr. (Clifton), 3. Joe Allen (Levant), 4. Shawn Racilla (Dover-Foxcroft), 5. Shawn Hamel (Bangor); Sport Four: 1. Nick Jenkins (Brownville), 2. Gary Richards (Exeter), 3. Brad Norris (Ellsworth), 4. Keith Ogden (Dedham), 5. Rick Grant (LaGrange); Stars of Tomorrow: 1. Matt Kimball (Cornville), 2. Ryan Modery (Hermon), 3. D.C. Alexander (Glenburn), 4. Emma Libby (Glenburn), 5. Jacob Earl (Veazie); Maine Mods: 1. Dan Snow (Pittston), 2. Tommy Stilphen (Arundel), 3. Reid Lanpher (Manchester), 4. Tyler King (Livermore), 5. Ben Nile (Anson); Mini-Cup: 1. Rachel Bernard (Lincoln), 2. Frances Bernard (Howland), 3. Ralph Melanson (Corinth), 4. Shelby Kimball (Cornville); Little Enduro: 1. Andrew Crosby (Hermon), 2. Chad Badger (Milo), 3. Aaron Bragg (Bangor), 4. Lewis Badger (Milo), 5. David Ogden (Old Town)

Unity Raceway

At Unity, Jeff Burgess of Fairfield snapped Frank Moulton’s five-race win streak in the 35-lap Late Model main event Saturday night.

Dylan Turner of Freedom finished second, with Moulton, Seth Raven of Waldo and David Folsom of Skowhegan completing the top five.


Super Street: 1. Nate Weston (Madison), 2. Brad Bellows (China), 3. Ricky Burgess Jr. (Waterville), 4. Allan Moeller (Dresden), 5. Nick Huff (Orrington); Wildcat: 1. Carl McAlpine (Burnham), 2. Ryan Robinson (Waterville), 3. Chris King (Burnham), 4. Ed Sleeper (Vassalboro), 5. Andy Turbovsky (Winslow); Late Model Pro Four: 1. Ben Clark (Clinton), 2. Corey Walker (Augusta), 3. Steve Rackliff (Starks), 4. Norm Cummings Jr. (Augusta), 5. Bryant Lancaster (Skowhegan); Monsta Mini: Pete McCollett (Readfield), 2. John Fortin (Vassalboro), 3. Mike Wilson (Chelsea), 4. Lance Chapman (Benton), 5. Greg Cummings (Augusta); Flyin’ 4: Justin Moore (Madison), 2. Derek Cook (Wilton), 3. Brad Bosworth (Cornville), 4. Brian Dickey (Madison), 5. Zach Audet (New Sharon); Ladies: 1. Becky Elston (Carmel), 2. Samantha Letourneau (Benton), 3. Amanda Batchelder (Fairfield), 4. Mika Wilson (Chelsea), 5. Christie Foster (Norridgewock); Teen Thunder: Jayson Bosworth (Cornville), 2. Kyle Robinson (Clinton), 3. Wesley Turner (Montville), 4. Cole Robinson (Clinton), 5. Mike Fernald (Benton); Enduro: Daymon Dodge (Troy), Shadow Folsom (Skowhegan), 3. Donny Silva (Hudson), 4. Alex Fernald (Benton), 5. Zack Gagnon (Clinton); NELCAR Legends: 1. Evan Beaulieu (Durham), Bobby Timmons (Windham), 3. Bobby Weymouth (Topssham), 4. Matthew Burgoine (Newport), 5. Kevin Hutchens (East Waterboro)

Beech Ridge Motor Speedway

At Scarborough, David Oliver went on to take first place in the Pro Series feature at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway Saturday.

Charlie Colby finished second while Bill Rodgers came in third. Mike Rowe and Mike Landry rounded out the top five.


Sport Series: 1. Russell Morse, 2. Donnie Colpritt, 3. Doug Wolfe, 4. Nathan Leavitt, 5. Reggie Leeman; Wildcat: 1. Daniel Bean, 2. Matt Hodgdon, 3. Paul Lund, 4. Cole Watson, 5. Keith Stuart; Road Runners: 1. Natasha Dyer, 2. Matt Dow, 3. David Turner, 4. Ryan Phillips, 5. Taylor Lampron

Winterport Dragway

At Winterport, Bob Cousins of Brewer claimed the top spot in the Super Pro Eliminator feature at Winterport Dragway Sunday.

Craig Cousins of Hermon came in second place while Mike DiCenzo of Calais was a semifinalist.


Super Pro/Pro: 1. Bob Cousins (Brewer), 2. Randy Therrien (Unity); Pro Eliminator: 1. Randy Therrien (Unity), 2. Robin Reynolds (Winterport), semifinalists: Dwight Overlock (Owlshead), Cici Eberle (Searsmont); Bikes/Sleds: 1. Jim Marston (Fairfield), 2. Aaron Astle (Ellsworth); Pro Street Eliminator: 1. Bill Dammier (Deer Isle), 2. Tom Ireland (Winterport), semifinalists: Gage Reynolds (Bangor), Dan Poirier (Minot); Teen: 1. Cole Lane (Patten), 2. Brandon Tracy (Bucksport); Street Trophy: 1. Gage Reynolds (Bangor), 2. John Kaiser (Mapleton)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like