May 24, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Sharon Carrillo | Elver Season | Goat Airbnb

St. Clair wins two at ‘95’

Bangor Daily News

    HERMON — Speedway 95 remembered a fallen friend Saturday night with the running of the Allen Fletcher Memorial Duel 23’s and Josh St. Clair of Liberty won both races to extend his win streak to six straight.

As a way to honor the memory of his brother and raising money for Camp CaPella, Brent Fletcher of Old Town helped put on the memorial races.

Allen Fletcher crashed while racing at Unity Raceway on Sept. 28, 2002. He died three days later.

On Saturday night, in the first Dysart’s Late Model 23-lap shootout, there were two cautions, but when the race resumed for good, Josh St. Clair of Liberty and Ryan Deane of Winterport traded the top spot back and forth until lap 14, when St. Clair pulled away for good. Deane was second and Mike Hopkins of Hermon was third. Phil Richardson of Hermon was fourth and Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs finished fifth.

In the second shootout, only one caution flag came out, in lap 15, and once again St. Clair cruised to victory, pulling the lead away from Hermon’s Dale Swoboda after the caution and keeping it.

Steuben’s Brenton Parritt was second, Swoboda third, Richardson fourth and Dean fifth. The overall points winner for the Duel 23 purse and trophy will be determined in the tech garage before next week’s race.


Sport Four: 1. Keith Ogden (Dedham), 2. Rick Grant (Lagrange), 3. Bradley Norris (Ellsworth), 4. Gary Richards (Exeter), 5. Derrick Terrill (Plymouth); Super Street: 1. Steve Moulton (Glenburn), 2. Doug Sinclair (Hermon), 3. Kris Watson (Hermon), 4. Jeremy Glasier (Appleton), 5. Mike Overlock (Stockton Springs); Strictly Street: 1. Duane Seekins (Stockton Springs), 2. Shawn Hamel II (Bangor), 3. Jim Carr, Jr. (Clifton), 4. Andrew McLaughlin (Harrington), 5. Joe Allen (Levant); Stars of Tomorrow: 1. Matthew Kimball (Cornville), 2. Emma Libby (Hudson), 3. Ryan Modery (Hermon); Mini-Cup: 1. Francis Bernard (Howland), 2. Ralph Melanson (Charleston), 3. Rachel Bernard (Lincoln), 4. Shelly Kimball

Spud Speedway

At Caribou, Nelson Chapman of Caribou went on to take first place in the Super Street feature at Spud Speedway Saturday.

Easton’s Mike Howlett claimed second followed by Presque Isle’s Matt Reynolds. Duane Dunifer of Hermon finished fourth while Jon Dixon of Presque Isle took fifth.


Young Guns: 1. Adam Williams (Limestone), 2. Connell McLean (Centreville, N.B.), 3. Brandon York (Fort Fairfield), 4. Jesse Dewley (Presque Isle); Larry Cowett Memorial: 1. Dave MacDougal (Fort Fairfield), 2. Nelson Chapman (Caribou), 3. Johnny Albert (Limestone), 4. Dale Argraves (Castle Hill), 5. Russ Woodman (Castle Hill); Northern Lights: 1. Steve Levesque (Mars Hill), 2. Don Rideout (Caribou), 3. Wayne Fox Jr. (Caribou), 4. Mark York (Fort Fairfield), 5. Galen Morrow (Limestone); Fast Fours: 1. Matt Farnham (Mapleton), 2. Keith Thibeau (Fort Fairfield), 3. Rick Saucier (Wallagrass), 4. Connor Thibeau (Fort Fairfield), 5. Nate Haney (Caribou); Street Stock: 1. Bobby Anderson (Limestone), 2. Dana York (Fort Fairfield), 3. Derek Finnemore (Mapleton), 4. William Barker (Caribou), 5. Carl Tucker (Presque Isle); LMS: 1. Tharren MacDougal (Fort Fairfield), 2. Jeff Willette (Presque Isle), 3. Jerry Williams (Limestone), 4. Milo Haney (Connor), 5. Duane Dunifer (Hermon); PASS Modifieds: 1. Alan Wilson (Hebron), 2. Scott McDaniel (Livermore), 3. Andy Shaw (North Conway, NH), 4. Mike Mayberry (Naples), 5. Jon Brill (Bridgton); PASS North SLM: 1. Johnny Clark (Hallowell), 2. Trevor Sanborn (East Parsonsfield), 3. Scott Chubbuck (Dresden), 4. Gary Drew (Gorham), 5. Ben Rowe (Turner)

Winterport Dragway

At Winterport, Julie Larrabee of Stockton claimed the top spot in the Super Pro Eliminator feature at Winterport Dragway Sunday.

Larrabee finished in front of Ellsworth’s Rick Hunnewell who finished second. Greg Young of Winterport and Jerry Hatch of Lubec were semifinalists.


Super Pro/Pro: 1. Mike Whitaker (South China), 2. Julie Larrabee (Stockton); Pro Eliminator: 1. Mike Whitaker (South China), 2. Dwight Overlock (Owls Head), semifinalist: Rick Wiseman (Blue Hill); Bikes/Sleds: 1. Joe Bartel (Brunswick), 2. Aaron Astle (Ellsworth), semifinalist: Jim Marston (Fairfield), Brittney Marston (Fairfield); Pro Street Eliminator: 1. Tom Ireland (Winterport), 2. Wayne Chadwick (South China); Street Trophy: 1. Tom Ireland (Winterport), 2. Jeromy Carey (South China)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like