June 19, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Susan Collins | Tiny House Surprise | Stephen King

Sanborn earns PASS victory

Bangor Daily News

    GROVETON, N.H. — Trevor Sanborn of Parsonsfield maneuvered past Richard Moody Racing teammate Travis Benjamin of Morrill on lap 82 and led the rest of the way to earn his first Pro All-Stars Series Super Late Model North division victory in the Summerfest 150 at Riverside Speedway Saturday night.

Sanborn, who has won two PASS SLM South races in his career, was followed across the finish line by Benjamin. Hollis’ Richie Dearborn was third, Ben Rowe of Turner came home fourth and rounding out the top five was Cassius Clark of Farmington.

Donnie Whitten of Wells was sixth and the rest of the top 10 consisted of Hallowell’s Johnny Clark, Dresden’s Scott Chubbuck, Gorham’s Gary Drew and Adam Bates of Warner, N.H.

The other Maine drivers were Bangor’s Gary Smith (13th), Berwick’s Joey Doiron (14th), Orrington’s Scott Alexander (15th), Unity’s Randy Turner (17th) and Brewer native Mike Thomas (18th).

    Revolution’s Wallace wins

At Lee USA Speedway in Lee, N.H., Darrell Wallace Jr., who drives for Revolution Racing, led just the final three laps to win the K and N Pro Series East race Friday night.

Cherryfield’s Andy Santerre, four-time K and N Pro Series points champion, is the competition director for Revolution Racing, which is part of NASCAR’s Drive for Diversity program.

Wallace captured his second win of the season with a daring three-wide move on lap 122 as he drove underneath Ryan Truex and two-time TD Bank Oxford 250 winner Eddie MacDonald.

Truex, the points leader and younger brother of Sprint Cup driver Martin Truex Jr., finished second with Brett Moffitt, MacDonald and Cole Whitt completing the top five.

Wallace, who was spun by the angry Truex on the cool-down lap after the race, pulled within 33 points of Truex with three races remaining.

Marc Davis, who replaced Mackena Bell in another Revolution Racing car, wound up eighth while fellow Revolution Racing drivers, Sergio Pena and Ryan Gifford, wound up 15th and 19th, respectively.

    Spud Speedway

At Caribou, Nelson Chapman of Caribou captured the Coca-Cola Super Streets at Spud Speedway on Saturday.

Presque Isle’s Jeff Willette was second with Caribou’s Jason R. Levesque, Connor’s Milo Haney and Ashland’s Adam Michalka finishing out the top five.

U.S. Army Youngs: 1. Brandon York (Fort Fairfield), 2. Adam Williams (Limestone), 3. Andrew Cormier (Grand Isle); Aroostook Trusses Northern Lights: 1. Ken Cormier (Grand Isle), 2. Jason A. Levesque (Caribou), 3. Mark York (Fort Fairfield), 4. James Bradley (Presque Isle), 5. Thomas Everett (Caribou); Clukey’s Auto Supply Fast 4s: 1. Connor Thibeau (Fort Fairfield),l 2. Keith Thibeau (Fort Fairfield), 3. Rick Saucier (Wallagrass), 4. Nate Haney (Caribou), 5. Roy Crawford (Houlton); Hogan Street Tire Stock: 1. Dana York (Fort Fairfield), 2. Bobby Anderson (Limestone), 3. Mark Graves (Castle Hill), 4. Derek Finnemore (Mapleton), 5. Carl Tucker (Presque Isle); Race Your Neighbor: 1. Jason Theriault (Caribou); Bomber: 1. Bobby Anderson (Limestone), 2. Jason R. Levesque (Caribou), 3. Josh Daigle (Fort Kent)

    Winterport Dragway

At Winterport, Greg Young of Winterport claimed the top spot in the Super Pro Eliminator feature Sunday. Rick Hunnewell of Ellsworth finished second while Karl Johnson of Searsport was a semifinalist.

Super Pro/Pro: 1. Greg Young (Winterport), 2. David Moore (Swanville); Pro Eliminator: 1. David Moore (Swanville), 2. Robin Reynolds (Winterport), semifinalst: Bob Reynolds (Winterport); Bikes/Sled: 1. Brittney Marston (Fairfield), 2. Aaron Astle (Ellsworth), semifinalist: Jim Marston (Fairfield); Pro Street: 1. Joe Paluga (Bar Harbor), 2. Dan Poirier (Minot), semifinalist: Brock Wakefield (Unity), Wayne Chadwick (South China); Street Trophy: 1. Tom Ireland (Winterport), 2. Mike Murphy (Winterport)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like