McLaughlin races to career first with victory at Speedway 95

Posted July 18, 2010, at 11:42 p.m.

    HERMON — Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington won the first feature event of his career Saturday at Speedway 95 by holding off Jim Carr Jr. of Clifton for the win in the Strictly Street feature.

Shawn Hamel of Bangor placed second followed by Joe Allen of Levant in fourth and Shawn Racilla of Dover-Foxcroft in fifth.


Sport-Fours: 1. Steve Heath (Milo), 2. Keith Ogden (Dedham), 3. Brad Norris (Ellsworth), 4. Derek Terrell, 5. Gary Richards (Exeter); Super Street: 1. Doug Sinclair (Hermon), 2. Mike Overlock (Franklin), 3. Meghan Allen (Winterport), 4. Cody Brassbridge (Winterport), 5. Al Libby (Belfast); Little Enduros: 1. Donny Blanchard (Bangor), 2. Darren Durrell (Newburgh), 3. Andrew Crosby (Hermon), 4. Jason Lancaster (Orneville), 5. David Ogden (Old Town)

Winterport Dragway

WINTERPORT — Vic Nielsen of Norridgewock claimed first place in the Super Pro Eliminator feature Sunday at Winterport Dragway. Lubec’s Jerry Hatch finished second while Bob Cousins of Brewer and Paul Henkel of Old Orchard Beach were semifinalists.

Gamblers: 1. Russell Calder (Welshpool, N.B.), 2. Jerry Hatch (Lubec), semifinalist: Mike Jordan (Hancock); Ford Day: 1. Mike Whitaker (South China), 2. Dexter Henderson (Campobello, N.B.)

Super Pro/Pro: 1. Vic Nielsen (Norridgewock), 2. Willy Larrabee (Stockton Springs); Pro Eliminator: 1. Willy Larrabee (Stockton Springs), 2. Brad Tracy (Bucksport), semifinalist: John Kaiser (Mapleton), Russell Calder (Welshpool, N.B.); Bikes/Sleds: 1. Brittney Marston (Fairfield), 2. Aaron Astle (Ellsworth), semifinalist: Jim Marston (Fairfield); Pro Street: 1. John Kaiser (Mapleton), 2. Dan Poirier (Minot), semifinalist: Joe Paluga (Bar Harbor), Andrew Allen (Hermon); Diesel Day: 1. Corey Staples (Hermon), 2. Tony Starbird (Buckfield), semifinalist: Corey Lacadie (Milford)


View stories by school