May 27, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Memorial Day | Bangor Day Trips | Center for Wildlife

June 24 Scores and Highlights

Bangor Daily News

Thursday, June 24

Brewer 25, Penquis 4
Motor City 14, Steamboat 9
Acadians at Calais, 5:30 p.m.
Lincoln 10, Hampden 5
Saturday, June 26
Calais at Bangor (2), 5 p.m.
Brewer at Lincoln (2), 1 p.m.
Penquis at Acadians (2), 1 p.m.
Hampden at Motor City (2), 1 p.m.

    Brewer 25, Penquis 4

At Dover-Foxcroft, Blake Birmingham drove in five runs with a double and three singles and Tyler French had four singles and three RBIs as Brewer upended Penquis in a game called due to darkness after six innings.

Kyle McLain had three singles and three RBIs; Billy DeRedin and Brandon Gendreau each doubled and singled and drove in a run and Eric White had a two-run double for the winners.

Evan Eldridge pitched five innings of five-hit, four-run ball to pick up the win, striking out two, walking two and hitting two batters. French picked a scoreless sixth inning.

Nick Harvey and Brett White each had a single and an RBI for Penquis.
    Brewer (4-0)    705 391     — 25 21 0

Penquis (2-4)    310 000     — 4 5 5

Eldridge, French (6) and Richards, DeRedin (4); Cobb, Weymouth (3), White (5), Smith (5), Lord (6) and Kirlin

    Motor City 14, Steamboat 9

At Searsport, Kirk Francis’ two-run single snapped an 8-8 tie during a five-run fifth-inning rally that supplied Motor City of Orono with its win over the Steamboat Paddlers.

Ryan Carr had an RBI double in the fifth and Cody Cross singled in another run.

Carr had two doubles and two RBIs for the winners. Dan LeBreton hit a three-run homer and Bill Wetherbee had two singles and two RBIs.

Phil Benoit pitched 3 2/3 innings of three-hit, one-run relief to pick up the win. Casey Estes got the final out.

Dylan Keller had two doubles and three RBIs for Steamboat. Derrick Bernosky singled twice, Chris Hart hit a two-run single and Evan Kingsbury doubled.

Motor City (2-3)    080 050 1    — 14 10 1

Steamboat (1-5)    404 000 1    — 9 8 5

Hammond, Benoit (4), Estes (7) and LeBreton; Keller, Prescott (2), Kingsbury (5), Bernosky (6) and Faunce

    Lincoln 10, Hampden 5

At Hampden, Andy’s two-run homer in the third and Ivan Voisine’s two-run single in the fifth propelled the Lumber past the Riverdogs.

Kay added a single and finished with six RBIs, and Dakota Sleeper struck out two and walked two in picking up the win.

Nolan Turner led the Riverdogs with a two-run double, and Tyler Desjardins had a two-run single.
    Lincoln (4-1)    203 041 0    — 10 5 4

Hampden (2-4)    000 300 2    — 5 6 4

Sleeper and Harrisl Miller, Palmer (5), Perry (6) and McCloskey, Miller (5)

    Teams to host alumni game

BANGOR — The Bangor Comrades and Brewer Falcons American Legion baseball teams will hold an alumni baseball game and home run derby at Mansfield Stadium on Sunday.

Activity begins with a home run derby/batting practice session from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Batters will be divided into two sections: 14 and under and 15 and older. Alumni and current players are invited to participate in the 15-and-older division.

A baseball game pitting the current Comrades and Falcons against alumni from both programs will follow at 1 p.m.

Entry fee for any alumni player is a $20 donation to the two Legion programs, but admission to watch the game is free for the public. For more information, contact Bangor Comrades coach Dave Morris at 945-9786.



Sam Hamalainen

ROCKLAND — Sam Hamalainen of Rockland aced the 136-yard fifth hole at Rockland Golf Club Wednesday with a 6-iron. Jarrett Widdecombe witnessed Hamalainen’s second hole-in-one.


At Rocky Knoll CC, Orrington

Tuesday Twilight League

Gross: Gary Chessa 36, Adam Fournier 37, Pete Fournier 38; net: Mike Nelligan 33, Chris Murphy 34 (mc), Ed St. Heart 34 (mc); pin: No. 14 Mark Spaulding 2-3
    Blind Partner

Gross: Adam Fournier, Quintin Allan 37, Gary Chessa, Mark Spaulding 38 (mc); net: Pete Fournier, Scott Spaulding 30 (mc); Brad Walsh, Jim Oreskovich 30; pins: No. 12 Tom Bryant 30-10, No. 17 Mark Spaulding 3-0
    Thursday Scramble

Tom Bryant, Doug Higgins, Ed St. Heart, Judy Giroux 30 (mc); Mike Allan, Mel Bowden, Dan Watson 30 (mc); Bob Sullivan, Randy Chute, Scott Spaulding, Barbara Bryant 30; Adam Fournier, Bill Ferris, Willie Crowell, Anthony Moore 31; Gary Chessa, Burney Matthews, John Sullivan, Al Fleurstock 32; Pete Fournier, Jim Oreskovich, Bill Taylor 33; Chris Murphy, David Raymond, Paul Bowden, Chuck Mayhew 35; pin: No. 14, Pete Fournier 17-6

    At Bangor Municipal GC

Thursday Ladies Day

Casino Royale Tournament

Net: Yukiko Bigney, Karen Bamford, Darthea Tilley, Janet Munro 121, Jean Young, Louise Shindler, Kathy Anderson, Andrea Lee 122; pins: No. 3 Karen Bamford 13-6, No. 6 Rachel Lapointe 15-1, No. 11 Liz Coffin 36-4, No. 16 Jean Young 5-1

    At Rockland GC

Ladies Association

Gross: Cathy Smith, Carol Clough 87, Arlene Adams, Heidi Lyman 91; net: Virginia Goeke, Pat Ashton 58, Sue Wootton, Jan Bradeen 65; pins: No. 5 Betty Farrand 26-1, No. 10 Cathy Smith 4-9, No. 18 Jan Searle 24-2
    Men’s Business League

Tim Hoppe +2, Pat Cuminsky +1, (tie) Brian Plourd and Dennis Black even

At Traditions GC, Holden

Thursday Men’s League

Jay Kemm, Hank Fillietaz, Lew Rose 32; Burt Payson, Jeff Waring, Mike Connolly 34
    Couples League
    Bruce and Chris MacGregor 29, Don and Ann Thompson 31, Tony and Dot Cerbone 33, Tom and Darthea Tilley 34

At Piscataquis CC, Guilford

Thursday Night Men’s League

Gross: Josh Stockley, Colby Brown 41; net: David Clukey, Jacob Vanio 31; pin: No. 12 James Watson 22-10

At Foxcroft GC, Dover-Foxcroft

Hospital League

Gary Wakeland, Bill Bisbee +5; Dave Porter Sr., Dave Porter Jr. +3; pins: No. 4 Ken Grant 13-10, No. 15 Gary Wakeland 24-0

    At Kebo Valley Club, Bar Harbor

Men’s Twilight League

A side: Glen Megquier 4, Chuck Starr 3, (tie) James Mcfarland, Troy Lewis, Chris Cambridge, Tom Abbott 1; B side: Edd Hamor 4, (tie) Skip Basso, Richard Dow 3, (tie) Lucas Dunbar, Gary Seavey 2, (tie) Jon Carter, Tom Estes, Bill Mcfarland 1; pins: No. 4, Chuck Starr 11-6, No. 9, Ty Procter 11-6, No. 15, Jim Mcfarland 2-1



“Mr. Baseball”

John W. Winkin Award winners

1992-Steve Coombs, Lee

1993-Nick Caiazzo, Deering

1994-Andy Estabrook, Yarmouth

1995-Matt Kinney, Bangor

1996-Matt Truman, Oxford Hills

1997-Brandon Brewer, Greely

1998-Pat Liddy, Mt. Blue

1999-Stu Tisdale, Deering

2000-Jason Harvey, Bucksport

2001-Greg Creek, Maranacook

2002-Greg Norton, Sout
h Portland

2003-Ross Cantara, Biddeford

2004-Mark Rogers, Mount Ararat

2005-Ryan Flaherty, Deering

2006-Collin Henry, Geo. Stevens

2007-Jarrett Lukas, Old Town

2008-Kyle Stilphen, Gardiner

2009-Chris Bernard, Scarborough

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like