February 21, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Tourney Time 2018 | Joyce McLain | Winter Olympics

Ellsworth’s Norris wins 2 races at Speedway 95

Bangor Daily News

HERMON, Maine — Bradley Norris of Ellsworth won the Coca-Cola Strictly Street 35-lap feature race and followed that up by winning the Sport-Four feature later on during Saturday night action at Speedway 95.
Norris, the track’s 2009 Strictly Street champion, led the Strictly Street race from start through lap 21, but Shawn Hamel II of Bangor took the lead away on lap 22. Norris retook the lead on lap 23 and never gave it back. Hamel II finished second, Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs third, Clifton’s Jim Carr Jr. fourth and Shawn Hamel of Bangor fifth.
In the Sport-Four race, Norris kept his Mustang out front for the entire distance, but had plenty of competition from David Green of Hampden and Milo’s Steve Heath. Heath ended up second with Green third, Exeter’s Gary Richards fourth, and Roy Hathorn of Brownville fifth.
Super Streets: 1. Derek Mingo (Lamoine), 2. Jeremy Glasier (Appleton), 3. Doug Sinclair (Hermon), 4. Ryan St. Clair (Liberty), 5. Meghan Allen (Winterport)
Late Model: 1. Dale Swoboda (Hermon), 2. Brenton Parritt (Steuben), 3. Duane Seekins (Stockton Springs), 4. Ryan Deane (Winterport), 5. Dean Smart (Bradley)

Unity Raceway
At Unity, Ed Drake of Vassalboro built a comfortable margin and outran reigning track champion Frank Moulton of Burnham to the checkered flag in the Late Model feature Saturday. Will Collins of Appleton finished third, followed by Jeff Burgess of Fairfield and Louis Picard of Palmyra, respectively.
Monsta Mini: 1. Kevin Douglass (Sidney), 2. Dylan Lancaster (Skowhegan), 3. Lance Chapman (Burnham), 4. Mike Wilson (Chelsea), 5. Tim Collins (Farmingdale); Super Street: 1. Nate Weston (Madison), 2. Brad Bellows (Winslow), 3. Allen Moeller (Dresden), 4. Nick Huff (Orrington), 5. R.J. Austin (Norridgewock); Wildcat: 1. Bryan Robbins (Montville), 2. Andy Turbovsky (Winslow), 3. Carl McAlpine (Burnham), 4. Chris King (Burnham), 5. Ed Sleeper (Vassalboro); Late Model Pro Four: 1. Ben Clark (Clinton), 2. Steve Rackliff (Starks), 3. Corey Walker (Augusta), 4. Bryan Lancaster (Skowhegan), 5. Cary Davis (Solon); Flyin’ 4: 1. Justin Moore (Madison), 2. Zach Audet (New Sharon), 3. Brad Bosworth (Cornville), 4. Cody Sleeper (Augusta), 5. Steven Turner (Washington); Ladies: 1. Chelsea Young (Winterport), 2. Mika Wilson (Chelsea), 3. Brooke Getchell (Pittsfield), 4. Alica Goodwin (Clinton), 5. Amanda Batchelder (Fairfield); Teen Thunder: 1. Cole Robinson (Clinton), 2. Ricky Pease (Detroit), 3. Kayla Chelsey (Skowhegan), 4. Westley Turner (Montville), 5. Emily McAlpine (Burnham); Enduro: 1. George Fernald III (Benton), 2. Alex Fernald (Benton), 3. Ken Pelotte (Fairfield), 4. Rob Paddock (Clinton), 5. Devon Meserve (Canaan); Vintage Modified: 1. Keith Fuller, 2. James Sprague, 3. Bob Hills

Winterport Dragway
At Winterport, Bob Cousins of Brewer claimed the top spot in the Super Pro Eliminator feature Sunday. Jerry Hatch of Lubec finished second while Scott Gove of Dennysville and Randy Therrien of Unity were semifinalists.
Pro Eliminator: 1. Rick Wiseman (Blue Hill), 2. Mike Whitaker (South China), semifinalist: Bob Cote (Millinocket); bikes/sleds: 1. Jeff Fanjoy (Corinna), 2. John Weeks (Waterville); pro street eliminator: 1. Bill Dammier (Deer Isle), 2. Jeromy Carey (South China), semifinalist: Tom Ireland (Winterport), Mike Butler (Winterport); street trophy: 1. Bill Dammier (Deer Isle), 2. Mike Butler (Winterport); teen race: 1. Josiah Estabrook (Ellsworth), 2. Zach Hatch (Lubec)

Spud Speedway
At Caribou, Therren MacDougal of Fort Fairfield held off Jerry Williams of Limestone to win the Late Model Sportsman feature Saturday. Jeff Willette of Presque Isle finished third while Milo Haney of Connor came in fourth.
Young Guns: 1. Dillon MacDougal (Fort Fairfield), 2. Brandon York (Fort Fairfield), 3. Jesse Dewley (Presque Isle), 4. Adam Williams (Limestone); Northern Lights: 1. Jason Forbes (Castle Hill), 2. Jason Levesque (Caribou), 3. Steve Levesque (Mars Hills), 4. Rodney Saunders (Limestone), 5. James Bradley (Presque Isle); Fast 4s: 1. Connor Thibeau (Fort Fairfield), 2. Keith Thibeau (Fort Fairfield), 3. Chris Walsh (Presque Isle), 4. Jesse Michaud (Caribou), 5. Nate Haney (Caribou); Street Stock: 1. Dana York (Fort Fairfield), 2. Bobby Anderson (Limestone), 3. Derek Finnemore (Mapleton), 4. Dale Argraves (Castle Hill), 5. Jon Dixon (Presque Isle); Super Streets: 1. Mike Howlett (Easton), 2. Jason Levesque (Caribou), 3. Milo Haney (Connor), 4. Dillon MacDougal (Fort Fairfield), 5. Eric Andrews (Castle Hill); Bomber: 1. Milo Haney (Connor), 2. Bobby Anderson (Limestone), 3. Dave Fleming (Perth, N.B.)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like