May 20, 2018
Bangor Latest News | Poll Questions | Maine Dems | Texas Shooting | Royal Wedding | Preakness

Bangor voters choose LePage, Mitchell

By Eric Russell, BDN Staff

BANGOR, Maine — Voters in the Queen City picked Democrat Libby Mitchell and Republican Paul LePage to be their party nominees for governor and also voted to repeal a new reform law by a healthy margin.

According to final results, Mitchell narrowly edged Steve Rowe 697-620. Pat McGowan finished third with 451 votes, followed by Rosa Scarcelli with 423.

LePage led the Republicans with 730 votes, followed by William Beardsley (504) and Steve Abbott (471). Peter Mills, Les Otten, Bruce Poliquin and Matthew Jacobson followed.

video platformvideo managementvideo solutionsvideo player

Fifty-four percent of Bangor voters supported Question 1, a repeal of a new tax law that lowers income taxes while broadening the sales tax base and increasing the meals and lodging tax. All four bond questions received approval in Bangor.

Queen City voters also picked incumbent Rep. Steve Butterfield, D-Bangor, over challenger Pat Blanchette, a former representative and current city councilor, in the House District 16 primary. Butterfield will challenge Doug Damon, who ran unopposed for the Republican nomination. Re-publican William Osmer defeated James Parker 276-148 for the right to challenge Rep. Jim Martin, who holds the House District 18 seat.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like