June 23, 2018
News Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

UMS committee named to seek new UM president

By Judy Harrison, BDN Staff

BANGOR, Maine — Members of the committee that will recommend who the next president of the University of Maine should be were announced Tuesday by the University of Maine System.

Earlier this year, UMaine President Robert Kennedy announced he would step down in June 2011 after five years on the job. It has been announced that he will go to work for the system to develop an energy curriculum for use at all seven campuses.

The search committee, which will begin its work in September, is composed of three representatives each from the UMS board of trustees, the UMaine faculty and UMaine staff. Two student representatives, a member of the UMaine board of visitors and a community member also are on the search committee.

Eleanor “Ellie” Baker of Cape Elizabeth will be chairwoman of the committee. Baker serves on the UMS board of trustees and is a graduate of UMaine and the University of Maine School of Law.

“UMaine is the system’s flagship university and serves a statewide mission, so the president of this university plays an important role in Maine,” Baker said in a press release issued by the system office. “Our search committee represents a broad cross-section of the UMaine community, which is key to helping us make the best possible recommendations.”

Other search committee members are: UMS Trustees Charles O’Leary of Orono and Michelle Hood of Bar Harbor; UMaine faculty members Harlan Onsrud, Robert Rice and Stephanie Welcomer; UMaine staff Joseph Szelesta, Ranee Dow and Jeffrey Hecker; UMaine students James Beaupre, Nathaniel Wildes and Katie Foster, alternate; James Goff of the UMaine board of visitors; and John Rohman, the community representative.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like