June 21, 2018
Bangor Latest News | Poll Questions | Family Separations | Boston TV | LePage Troops

2 honorary degrees awarded by UMaine

ORONO, Maine — The University of Maine awarded two honorary degrees and recognized four faculty members during two commencement ceremonies Saturday.

Honorary degrees went to Charles M. Cawley and Ashok Jhunjhunwala.

Cawley, who earned a Doctor of Humane Letters degree, founded credit card company MBNA, bringing its operations to Maine in 1993. He also helped establish UMaine’s Hutchinson Center in Belfast. Jhunjhunwala, an electrical engineering professor at the Indian Institute of Technology in Chennai, India, holds master’s and doctoral degrees from UMaine. He was awarded a Doctor of Science degree.

Four faculty teaching awards were awarded Friday at the Collins Center for the Arts during the annual Academic Honors Convocation, traditionally held the day before commencement.

Paul Mayewski, director of UMaine’s Climate Change Institute, was named the 2010 University of Maine Alumni Association Distinguished Maine Professor.

Judith Pearse, a professor in the School of Engineering Technology, was recognized as the winner of the 2009 Presidential Outstanding Teaching Award.

Paul “Jim” Roscoe, a professor of anthropology and cooperating professor in the Climate Change Institute, was the recipient of the Presidential Research and Creative Achievement Award.

Professor Thomas Christensen of the UMaine School of Engineering Technology was the winner of the Presidential Public Service Achievement Award.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like