May 22, 2018
Mid-Maine Latest News | Poll Questions | Marijuana Ties | Mary Mayhew | Car Theft

Hartland voters stop town office relocation

By Christopher Cousins, BDN Staff

HARTLAND, Maine — Voters here rejected a proposal to relocate the town office to the Scott Webb Medical Building on Great Moose Drive, but left open the possibility of the plan carrying forward over the summer.

The mortgage for the building would have been covered by revenues from renting part of the building, but Town Manager Larry Post said a lengthy discussion at Saturday’s town meeting indicated that voters weren’t comfortable with the town owning another building. Hartland already owns the Town Hall and Academy Building on Route 152, the latter of which has been for sale for about a year.

Post said Monday that someone recently has shown interest in the Academy Building, but he couldn’t release the details because the deal is not complete.

In a related vote, residents gave their blessing to selling the Town Hall, where the town offices are now. Post said that building will go on the market soon and that the issue of purchasing the Scott Webb Medical Building could return at a special town meeting this summer.

“[Townspeople] want a report that one or both of those buildings will be in the process of being sold,” said Post. “They want to make sure that something is disposed of as we move forward.”

In comments he wrote in the town report, Post said the building on Great Moose Drive is up-to-date and wheelchair-accessible, unlike the town hall building.

Voters approved all of the other articles that were up for consideration. In elections for three seats on the Board of Selectmen on Friday, incumbents Christopher Littlefield received 150 votes, followed by Judith Alton with 133 votes and Barry Russell with 104 votes. Michael Brown lost his bid for the board with 102 votes. Littlefield, Alton and Russell will serve terms of three years, two years and one year respectively, after a decision last year to stagger the terms for selectmen.

In addition to an unopposed slate of 11 candidates for the town’s budget committee, Jay McDougal was elected as a write-in candidate.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like